Brightness Patcher - One-Click Solution - 2.x

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ChevyNo1, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have taken the manual steps and automated everything. This still has to be executed upon each phone restart, but it is at least a widget you can place on your desktop, no need for entering terminal commands [​IMG] . I've tried this both on 2.0.1 and 2.1 and it works. You can adjust your brightness through the phone's settings menu.

    Get it here:

    http://www.***********/file/197435033/40bd5b7b/FixBrite-v10.html

    Let me know if it works/doesn't work for you.

    1) This does require ROOT
    2) Your phone must be connected to your PC via USB and USB debugging turned on
    3) Run the exe, making sure adb.exe is in your PATH variable, or adb will not be found
    4) Add the new widget to your desktop. Enjoy
  2. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure how your exe works, but did you see latest post on alldroid?

    #! /system/bin/sh
    cat /sys/class/leds/lcd-backlight/brightness > /data/local/brightness;
    echo 0 > /sys/class/leds/lcd-backlight/als & sleep 1; kill $!;
    sleep 1;
    cat /data/local/brightness > /sys/class/leds/lcd-backlight/brightness
  3. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, same thing, but I didn't have the last line. What does that one do?
    And the file /data/local/brightness doesn't even exist on my system ...

    EDIT DUH I should have read more carefully ... it's just setting it back, which fixes the 'black screen'

    Already fixed and uploaded, thanks for the tip!
  4. tasmanian_droid
    Offline

    tasmanian_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhh cool ... so is this just a boot.img then? Has overclock, wifi-tether, and this patch?
  6. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a Sholes ROM... can this break anything else?
  7. tasmanian_droid
    Offline

    tasmanian_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ChevyNo1:
    Yes, this has overdrive, tether, and everything else.
    You might need the tiwlan_drv.ko that is the bottom of the first post.

    @Big Lou:
    I run each kernel on my phone at least a couple hours before releasing, and after 5 hours or so everything seems good to go.
    Again,you might need the tiwlan_drv.ko that's near the bottom of the first post in my kernel thread to get wifi to work.
  8. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried flashing just the kernel and it does not work. tiwlan0 is not found. I had this same problem unless going through the same flashing/reflashing of boot images, in order to get tethering to work. Can't just take the final boot image and dump/restore, it won't work ... unless I'm missing something here.
  9. tasmanian_droid
    Offline

    tasmanian_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like i said before, you might need the tiwlan_drv.ko also.
    Kernel modules check the version string in the kernel against the one they have internally, and if there is a mis-match they refuse to load. So far there have been a few different people releasing kernels, and therefore different modules are floating around.
  10. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    so what is going to happen if i do this over top of the wifi-tether/overclock kernel i have running right now, brightness is my only issue, i have wifi, i have tether, i have overclock, i dont want to lose anything just to gain brightness, so im just wondering is this gonna mess stuff up or is it good to go
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I had a kernel with the exact same filesize so I thought it was the same ... pulled yours over and wifi works/overclock. BUT the brightness is still broken.
  12. otterdude
    Offline

    otterdude New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This fix worked great! Glad my battery wont drain in 5 hrs now. Thanks!!
  13. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

class/leds/lcd-backlight/brightness

,

lg brightness patcher