Brightness issue on cm7

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by ldopa, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is anyone else experiencing this? No matter what I set the brightness to, when I put the phone to sleep and then wake it up, it's back to 100%! It drives me mad. Why is this happening and what can I do to fix it? Is there a dev email I can send a message to?

    CM74D2
     
  2. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +116
    JBV is active on Twitter.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  3. SWFLDroid

    SWFLDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I made a power control widget and set brightness to A(uto). It seems to stay there and work fine for me.

    Imagine that, something working right for me and not you, lol!
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Haha, funny guy! There is a power widget in the status bar and I added a brightness toggle to it. Even so, no matter where I set it (50%), it will stay there until I put the phone to sleep. Once I wake it up its back to 100. I don't want to use auto (I'm sure that works). I'd like it to stay at 50%. I guess it's not the end of the world (its my only issue), but if anyone has a fix...

    CM74D2
     
  5. SWFLDroid

    SWFLDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tested mine at low and medium brightness and it stayed put as I put the phone to sleep and woke it up, no problem. Since you are using Launcher Pro anyway, give the widget a try.
     
  6. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    It stays put in auto mode, but on manual mode, it keeps jumping up. I should just say screw it and enjoy my beautiful screen at full brightness ;)

    CM74D2
     
  7. SWFLDroid

    SWFLDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not mine, it stays put wherever I set it. I have had it on medium brightness for several cycles now with no change.
     
  8. All.Star.88

    All.Star.88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with the brightness. It doesn't really bother me anymore but if there is a fix or something that would be nice.

    cm7 powered Droid2
     
  9. C_BlazE

    C_BlazE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried to replicate the issue. and it seams to be working on build 19 just fine i even tried different levels and the brightness and slider remained the same.
     
  10. SWFLDroid

    SWFLDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is still working fine as well on build 20, tested several on/off cycles on each level of brightness with no changes.
     
  11. All.Star.88

    All.Star.88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on build 19 right now. I might wait for the next nightly or flash 20 to see if that fixes it.

    cm7 powered Droid2
     
  12. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Strange. It is the one bug i've noticed since I came to this rom.
    I think I'll just embrace it and enjoy my lush 100% screen. Why not?

    CM74D2
     
  13. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think I fixed my brightness issue. I changed the brightness toggle settings in the status bar power widget to: auto/dim/40/100. It's holding now (so far). I had it on a different setting (which obviously was not holding for whatever reason)

    (Sorry for the double post! Eek!)

    CM74D2
     
  14. All.Star.88

    All.Star.88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet. I'll try that out and see if it does the trick.

    cm7 powered Droid2
     
  15. All.Star.88

    All.Star.88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ldopa. After changing the toggle settings, the brightness problem went away. Seems good so far.

    cm7 powered Droid2
     
Search tags for this page
auto brightnrss in cm7.2
,
brightness problem in cm7.2
,
bug brightness cm7
,

cm7 brightness

,

cm7 brightness slider

,
cm7 brightness statusbar slide problem
,
cm7 camera brightnes
,
cm7 camera full brightness
,
cm7 samsung galaxy centura
,
droidx cyanogen brightness widget black