1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bricked

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Stevetx1989, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to backup my rom using rom manager as I have done before. As it went to reboot it stayed on the M and wont boot anymore. Any help would be awesome. Hopefully this isn't permanent as I ran out of insurance.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    You are not bricked, just bootlooped. I'm not familiar with how to fix your particular phone as it involves the bootstrap. Someone will be along to help you. That I'm sure of. Look through the rescue squad section to find your answers in the meantime. Good luck!

    This post is Incredible 2!
  3. ANDR0lD
    Offline

    ANDR0lD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pull battery and try powering it back up, if that doesn't work go into your recovery and try to wipe your cache, data, and dalvik. Then try and re flash a rom

    sent from my Cyan-Stoned Zeus 'Bolt
  4. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I tried a reboot. Nothing, still stuck. I then tried to wipe data and cache (there is no dalvik option) also, there is no install from sd card. Only update from sd card and flashing the roms that way isn't working.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It only allows me to boot into android recovery. I don't know how to boot into clockwork recovery via startup. If I could boot into clockwork I would be able to restore backup clear delvik etc.....

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  6. flip8882
    Offline

    flip8882 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you need to Sbf your bricked, when your stuck at the M like that your phone will not boot until you sbf it


    What system ver were you on
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Unfortunately you are not able to boot straight into clockwork from a powered off state when dealing with the Droid 2. At this point if you have wiped data and cache from android recovery and you are still stuck you will need to SBF.
  8. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I was on gingerbread 2.3.7 with liquid 3.1 rom. I was going to try and install a wifi app. So, I backed up using rom manager as I have before. But, when it rebooted just for the backup it got stuck st the M. How would I go about SBFing?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I am heading off to bed now so I will be unable to answer questions but when you are looking for the correct SBF file to use you will want to Google "Droid 2 Triple Threat." I just did it and the first result was the proper place, you want the full SBF not the system only one.

    Also I will mention when you are done running the SBF you will most likely be bootlooping, it is common after an SBF. If this happens just boot into android (stock) recovery and clear data and cache. It should take care of it.
  11. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I appreciate it. I wont be able to make an attempt until sometime tomorrow. I gotta find a 64 bit machine again. The 32 bit drivers for the machine I use are near impossible to find. I will post here with results.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  12. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also the battery is not a problem. I charged mine with another phone fully.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Sounds good. Definitely let us know how it goes. And I just throw the battery warning out there since many are not aware that it does not charge if you are not booted into the OS.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  14. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am definitely aware. Thanks, though. Will keep y'all updated.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  15. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I forgot to post.... I got it fixed a few days ago. I just ran rsd lite with a file that a friend sent. Then, BAM! A working phone. It sent me back to froyo but I did the OTA got gingerbread and I am now running liquid 3.1b again :) all I needed was a 64 bit machine. The drivers that were found for 32 bit were trash.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  16. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I was wondering what happened to you lol. Glad to hear you got it all worked out!!
  17. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya, me too. Thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums