bricked trying to change rom to motoblur?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by deviation56, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. deviation56
    Offline

    deviation56 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was running the latest version of hashcode's CM7 with clockwork and wanted to test out the new ICS build so as per the instructions i downloaded the latest motoblur rom and after it was done installing... now my phone won't get past the motorola dual core screen... what are my options?
  2. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Unfortunately, if you're stuck at the Dual Core logo, you're going to have to SBF. You can also use the Fast Boot option.
  3. deviation56
    Offline

    deviation56 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could you point me in the direction of the latest SBF file for the Droid 3? I think i can figure it out from there. I've bricked quite a few Droid 1's and 2's but this is my first having to SBF a Droid 3 lol. And what is fast boot exactly?
  4. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
  5. deviation56
    Offline

    deviation56 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    got it running again using Flash Verizon DROID 3 OTA 5.6.890 to phone_psouza4 which uses fastboot.... was even able to recover after accidentally hitting the power button on the surge protector that my computer was plugged into halfway through the flash causing it to fail mid-flash the first go round. :) thanks for the help!
  6. anthony_rada
    Offline

    anthony_rada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i my self have the same issue. i tried doing the fastboot but its not working for me i followed all the instructions to the "t" and still nothing is there anything that you can recommend?????

    [EDIT]WOOOO HOOO got it back on using RSD LITE..........that was a close one!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  7. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Glad to hear everyone is back in business. Now go flash Hashcode's Safestrap, so it won't happen again. :biggrin:
  8. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    +1

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. anthony_rada
    Offline

    anthony_rada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im sure it will happen again lol. So having hascodes safestrap will prevent to happen or is just to recover thru bptools? sorry im new to this bootstarp stuff i never used it on my OGDroid.. Thanks for the help!!!!
  10. deviation56
    Offline

    deviation56 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    one step ahead of you on that one this time haha ;)
  11. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I was right there with you on the d1 stuff. Safestrap utilizes the /preinstall to boot a 2nd system from so that your stock blur on the actual /system isn't ever touched and you will ALWAYS have a custom recovery to boot into because safestrap is flashed to the actual /system partition and is never over written. With this you will never have to worry about a bootloop because you can either boot into your stock system or reflash or restore if you bootloop.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  12. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    AND on every reboot safestrap will display a splash screen that give you the option to press 'menu' an boot into the recovery, which is my favorite feature. Might take the phone an extra 15 or so seconds to boot up but its nice to see that the recovery is working like its supposed to.
Search tags for this page
droid 3 rom change
,

motoblur 5.6.890 ota from verizon