Bricked/Stuck at boot animation after attempting to make status bar black...

Mr X

Reaction score
Last night I tried skinning my status bar to black using this method. It was late, I was tired, and did not see that you need to be de-odexed to apply this theme. Needless to say, I'm now screwed. It won't boot past the DROID screen. So... what do I do? I tried booting without the SD card but haven't tried anything else. Do/could I just do the power+home key and clear the cache? Is there any easy fix to this where I can salvage anything from the phone? I'm guessing I need to use the SBF, but I've never done that before so I'm looking for that guide. I'm running the official 2.2 OTA and I had rooted it. Could anybody please point me in the right direction?

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Let's get you to where you might get some help.

I couldn't help but notice in the directions on the page you linked it said:

Warning if you do not know what you are doing DO NOT try this. You will be stuck in a boot loop.
If you do know how to do this Enjoy It is normal for the phone to go black after you copy the statusbar. Continue to copy or enter the rest of the code and reboot your phone.

Are you capable of booting into recovery? If you are then do a wipe of both data and cache.

Also here is the guide to the SBF http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html. I'll move you to the Rescue squad too.

OP
Mr X

Mr X

Reaction score
Thank you so much for your quick response. Posted elsewhere but nothing. Alright, so what I did now is hold the up/down volume buttons and powered the phone on. I'm now at a screen that says:

BootLoader

Battery OK
OK to Program
Connect USB
Data Cable

From here, would I download the SBF file, install and run RSDlite, plug the USB into the phone and flash to that SBF file?

OP
Mr X

Mr X

Reaction score