Bricked phone?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by fichdak, May 15, 2010.

  1. fichdak
    Offline

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys. I was using my Droid and dropped it.. whoops. It was frozen so I popped out the battery and restarted it and the Motorola "M" splash screen was sort of off to the side and there was a bunch of rainbow-y pixels in the bottom right corner. (see image) and it won't boot.

    [​IMG]

    Holding the x button and the power button doesn't start up clockwork recovery like it should...


    So as far as I know, there's nothing I can do other than restore it with an sbf file (unless it's a hardware problem)

    Does anyone have any suggestions? All I really want to do is back it up before trying to restore it or bring it to VZW. Is there any kind of safe mode or way to do something through ADB or am I sh** out of luck?

    Thanks, and sorry if this is in the wrong section
     
  2. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ouch......
     
  3. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I say take it in if thats under warrenty or have insurance. They will either flash the .sbf and it won't work, or they'll figure out it's a hardware problem and replace it. Either way you will most likely get a new phone. I wouldn't do the .sbf as you may be stuck with a fresh phone and it slid over to the side, which IMO would give them the suspicion that you have previously tampered with your phone before you dropped it, so you tried to flash the .sbf to fix it.
     
  4. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying running commands via usb debugging maybe?
     
  5. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to go with hardware error. Dropping it couldn't alter the software to offset the M from the middle but faulty hardware could...

    What did you drop it from? 747 mid flight?
     
  6. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lololololol I dropped mine twice since I've gotten it and neither time its done anything at all, this thing is a tank
     
  7. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've dropped mine down a flight of stairs and it landed on the hardwood floor at the bottom. Not a scratch!
     
  8. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    very nice. I unfortunately did get one tiny scratch on my phone, but it was because of keys in pocket with it. Never make that mistake again.
     
  9. jgumphress
    Offline

    jgumphress Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would think that when we got older we wouldn't drop our toys any more. But I guess we never grow out of that. I've dropped mine twice now but both times it was on the carpet at home with no damage.
     
  10. fichdak
    Offline

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was only like a 3 foot drop which makes it suck even worse haha.

    Hm, I'm using ADB pull to get everything off the phone. First it said error no device found, then it warned that some of it might be corrupt, but now it seems to be working... I'll fill you in when it's done dancedroid



    EDIT: any way I can do a nandroid backup or something similar through ADB or am I best just pulling /data and /system to my hard drive?
     
  11. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if you can retrieve your info, you do know that you'll have to return it to stock before you bring it in if you want to use a warranty? As long as your comp is recognizing the phone that shouldn't be an issue. ;) keep us posted, and good luck
     
  12. fichdak
    Offline

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I didn't even bother reverting to stock because I figured they'd never know if the phone didn't even turn on...

    Went to Verizon today and guess what!

    As soon as I got there and turned on the phone to show to service guy, the logo was back to the middle of the screen, and the phone booted up just fine. I swear, I must've rebooted it a million times over the past 24 hours and that's the first time it worked.

    Oh well, at least the phone works :p
     
  13. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol dodged a bullet there didn't ya? Too funny... Good thing the verizon guy didn't boot it up for you, bye bye warranty.
     
  14. cubssuck1908
    Offline

    cubssuck1908 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was trying to install my first ICS ROM and although it said installed, I was never able to get past the 4GLTE boot screen. When I tried to restore my nandroid backup from, it got stuck on the same screen. Now when I press the volume down button to boot into recovery, it asks me to install update. When I say yes, it installs, restarts, hangs up on 4GLTE screen. When I say no, it just reboots. It won't allow me to do anything else? How can I even begin to restore something now??
    Somebody please help here.
     
  15. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    First off, you are far from bricked and came to the right place for help. Try the usual things? Battery pull, wipe cache and dalvik cache again, just to make sure, then try booting again.
    Still no dice? Did the rom that you installed, instruct you to flash a PH98IMG.zip after installing? You should check the instructions, as it seems you are missing the boot image.

    As far as restoring your backup, its a semi-complex process, because when you flashed the new ICS rom, it updated your mainver.
    Your mainver is the code that your phone looks for, when it tries to load the boot image. If it's a lower number than what is currently programmed into your phone, it won't allow the update PH98IMG.zip file to load, hence your phone won't boot properly. In order to restore your backup, you'll have to change the mainver in the file of your backup, to at least the same as your current one on your phone. The highest number that I've seen in a rom is 3.10.605.13, so if you change the mainver in your backup to this, it should load just fine. Click the link for changing the mainver below. It's instructions for changing a new rom, but they are exactly the same as changing your backup as well.
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ht...9-mainver-problems-not-anymore.html?highlight

    Good luck and report back.
     
Search tags for this page
4g logo hanging rezound
,
galaxy s 3 wont turn on past the 4g screen
,

galaxy s3 stuck on 4g lte screen

,
galaxy s3 stuck on 4g lte startup screen
,
how to change verizon 4g lte logo splash screen galaxy s3
,
htc rezound stuck on logo screen
,

nandroid restore stuck boot screen

,
rezound hung on 4glte screen no image
,
rezound stuck 4g screen
,
rezound stuck at 4g screen