bricked my phone help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by evh5150, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so today i downloaded and used the z4root app and rooted my droid then downloaded and installed cynogen or wutever its called rom....everything was going fine and when it rebooted its stuck on the motorola screen with no response. its a motorola droid frg22d 2.2 im so pissed right now
     
  2. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nvrmn i did a battery pull and it seems to be working again but the damn rom didnt install
     
  3. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont get it i tried to install bugless beast and it got past the motorola screen but then it went to the rescue mode screen whats going on i keep having to take out the battery to restart
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    No guarantee I can help but how are you flashing roms. It seems like you might be missing a step if its failed on 2 diff roms.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Agreed.



    DroidForums junkie!
     
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    When you boot into recovery do you get a triangle with a ! or a ClockworkMod Recovery since I'm assuming you downloaded ROM Manager and used that to install CyanogenMod 6 stable?

    Did you wipe system and data caches? Did you make a backup? Was your battery charged above 70% before you started flashing? Did you install an overclocking kernel? Did you attempt to install a theme at the same time? Did you install the app pack? Did you install the proper app pack for CyanogenMod? Did you lock your recovery image in memory or did the 2C 7C bootloader nail you too? Is it the stable version or are you trying to install a nightly? If so, what nightly build are you trying to install?
     
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handing the wheel to fbm

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used rom manager to install after using the z4root app....i then clicked on the rom cleared, wiped system cache and everything now it takes me to recovery mode with an !...................Im new to this so i dont know all the lingo yet but i followed the instructions on a website and so far nothing my phone must be rooted because ive been able to install and use setcpu and wifi tether
     
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Whatever website you went to obviously doesn't know what they're talking about. The bootloader that shipped with FroYo doesn't let you replace the recovery image without tricking it.

    I have the proper instructions for the method you're trying to follow, if you're interested.
     
  10. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    plz plz plz thanks
     
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sending via PM.
     
  12. evh5150
    Offline

    evh5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    man i dont get it all i did was install z4root then got rooted. I then downloaded rom manager and went to install cyanogen rom and when it reboots itself it takes me to the screen with the triangle and !..ive tried downloading and installing a bunch of other roms and it just doesnt do aything sometimes it will restart the phone and everything is just normal am i missing something
     
  13. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    evh, if you are still having problems it's because you need to root via link 3 in my sig (your custom recovery is being overwritten by the stock one every time you reboot)then you should be able to install any Rom you like.
     
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I sent you instructions via PM on how to use z4root and RM to get it to work. That's as easy as it gets. If you don't want to mess around with Astro then you can modify it to work with your PC/Mac.
     
  15. jonstewart2
    Offline

    jonstewart2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a serious problem..my droid x wont power on...i can only get into the bootloader but it says bootloader 30.04 Err: A5, 70, 70, 00, 1F MEM_MAP Blank Service Req'd Battery Low(this is blinking) Cannot Program(this is blinking as well) i have a droid x 2.2 it is rooted... i tried doing the rsd lite flash an at the part where it said please manually reboot this device i un plugged an tried to get it to come on but it wouldnt.. i believe i got into this when i dwnldd rom managr an installed the themes an custom roms...plz help
     
Search tags for this page
bricked phone after using z4root
,
can z4root brick your phone
,
will z4root brick my phone
,

z4root bricked my phone

,

z4root stuck on rebooting