Bricked my Droid2 stuck on boot logo Help?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by gthotie5, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm stuck on the "liberty" boot logo when i try to turn on my phone I looked for a way to fix it im new to all this. So if anybody can help me out by making or linking me to a guide on how to Fix my droid2 for dummies i would appreciate it a lot. Thanks in advance

    INFO:
    Squidly Rom
    Tried to restore a backup
    Rebooted and didnt go past the "liberty" logo
    10% battery life
    FML
    Please help! :(
  2. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    if it's the first boot it usually takes a little while.
  3. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry forgot to mention it stayed there for 15 minutes without me touching it the first time.
  4. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm pretty sure if it's at least starting up it's not bricked. Could be wrong. Try booting into recovery. If that doesn't work, then you have a problem. But if you can, then you're good. Also try the bootloader if that doesn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i boot into recovery? I cant get past the boot logo, it stays froze there.
  6. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    plug into a computer and boot the phone....should take you right into recovery
  7. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Aren't you rooted and everything? But hold down x, and turn the phone on and keep it held down until you get to the logo for a few seconds and then let go.
    I also forgot the D2 has a locked bootloader so never mind what I said about that haha


    Do D2's have a different method of booting into recovery? I thought it was hold down x also?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wen i pluged it in to my computer it just stayed on boot logo frozen again.
    I did the power hold x and a yield sign came up?
  9. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I guess a D2 is different. I assumed since you were rooted it would be the same as a D1 with a custom recovery. But, that's a good sign. You said you tried restoring a backup, any chance you can get a battery from and friend and flash a ROM? I guess if a backup didn't work that might not either but who knows.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what should i do then?
  11. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Being on my phone I can't provide very much help. But, I would Google it and you should post your problem in the RescueSquad section. They provide a lot of help and seem to able to help you fix almost anything.
    You could even PM them if need be.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    You can try booting into stock recovery again, pressing the search button on the keyboard below the x key and it should give you the option to wipe data and cache. Then reboot

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i wiped data and cache and rebooted but the same thing happened.
  14. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it says

    E:cant open /cache/recover/command
  15. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Okay, you may need to unroot and everything and start over again.
    You can use this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=770224
    I'm on my phone so sorry if the link doesn't work. If you do this, make sure you get the sbf file for your phone, version number, etc. It must match, so again, make sure it's the right one.
    From what I can tell, this is what you'll need to do but I'm also not an expert on the D2. So, like I said, I'd ask the RS or someone to make sure first but I'm pretty sure they'll tell you the same.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well my phones dead now and i have no way of getting another battery.
  17. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No one you know has an original Droid or Droid 2?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  18. gthotie5
    Offline

    gthotie5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, nobody.
  19. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hit up the vz store tomorrow. They'll let you charge it.
  20. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    That's what I was thinking. I'd get it replaced if that didn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

droid 2 is frozen

,

droid 2 stuck on bootlog

,

droid x2 stuck on boot logo

,

how do yo fix a frozen droid 2

,

how fo i fix my droid 2global in stuck on boot logo

,

how to fix a droid 2 stuck on boot logo with mac?

,

how to fix motorola stuck on boot