1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bricked my Droid 3, RSD-Lite method is NOT working.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by MasterChris, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. MasterChris
    Offline

    MasterChris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Recently the .906 update came to my phone, and I was using the Rubix ROM at the time.
    I updated my phone to .906, and all the ROM features were lost(as expected).
    So, I went around and found Maverick ROM which I really liked, and so I flashed that onto my phone.
    Inside the Maverick ROM there was a feature where I could install "Loader2" instead of the stock "Blur Loader" or something like that..
    I installed Loader2, and when my phone rebooted, it did not boot up, it is stuck at the Droid booting animation, and will not boot up.
    My CWM Bootstrapper does not work, and recovery does not work either(when I do power + m and press recovery).
    So, freaking out I tried using the AP Fastboot method with RSD Lite, and every single time I flash I get an error at step 6 saying "Failed flashing process. 6/18 flash cdt.bin "cdt.bin" -> Phone returned FAIL.;phone connected"
    No RSD-Lite flash method is working, and I am stuck.

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

    Thanks in advance,
    Chris
  2. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    your not stuck ove is here lol
    click the link in my signature download the 1clicknew sbf.exe from my thread and follow the instructions and all will be good
  3. MasterChris
    Offline

    MasterChris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow..

    I'll be honest dude, I had to leave the house so I quickly posted this onto the forums, but before I left I was going to do EXACTLY what you just told me to do, it was literally my last resort..
    It worked.
    I love you. <3 (No homo) LOL.dancedroid:icon_ banana:
  4. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    lol no worries glad it all worked out foe ya!
  5. drbobmd
    Offline

    drbobmd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good afternoon Gentlemen =]

    I have used both the one click method as well as rsd lite and neither of which have yielded positive results. On both scenarios, I boot in AP Fastboot, connect, execute, and upon reboot I am presented with the regular moto dual-core screen but with what I imagine to be some sort of white text and it just hangs.

    Prior to needing the sbf, I was using hash's cm9 but switching back and forth a bit (the NBC olympics app wasn't playing nicely with cm9's flash issues) and the phone began rebooting constantly so I switched back to stock, under which the reboot issue persisted (although not as bad). Then this morning it either stuck at aforementioned moto screen (with white text), refused to turn on, or boot properly only to crash and go right back to the previous. Now after the fix attempts, it consistently boots the moto screen with the white text.

    I have been seeing folks mention using 'x + power' for booting into recovery (recov. screen with triangle and exclamation point) but this does nothing. Does this apply to the Droid 3 or is this for different devices (vs. d3's 'm + power')

    Might ye have any thoughts? Any and all help is greatly appreciated and I do know what the thanks button is ;]
  6. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Seems im in the same boat after trying to FLash the newest Alpha cm9. After flashing the ROM and then gapps, I just get a blank screen. I wiped and tried again..still blank screen. Wiped again.
    So I decided to go into non-safe mode and recover my Non safe Backup to go stock for a while.. maybe thats what caused my problem. Stuck at Moto screen and Safestrap no longer works? There is a screen that just has white text but never ran RSD lite. I have a MAC. Can I use your download for the Mac and push it to my phone? Sorry not tech savvy any my question might not make any sense.
    Didi little research and found out about Fastboot files? Not sure how to install them, and again i have a mAC so not sure if im screwed or not. Thx for your time
  7. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    what system/ota were you on prior to attempting to sbf
  8. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    yeah sorry bro im not a mac guy so im sot sure how you would go about it..i dont know if macs run normal windows exe files...
  9. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Thx, going to do some more searching then. thx!
  10. drbobmd
    Offline

    drbobmd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    .906. Made sure to use the correct corresponding tools. If I'm not mistaken, the tools flash the .890 image then you need to update to .906?
  11. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    correct..
    you can either go to settings/about phone/system updates and install it from there or
    you can go to my thread download the. 906 ota update place it on your external sdcard boot your phone into STOCK recovery pwr+x and install update
  12. drbobmd
    Offline

    drbobmd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The problem there lies that I would have to be able to boot the phone. Whenever I turn it on/plug it in I get the initial moto dual-core screen with some so-small-its-unreadable white text at the bottom and it just camps there until I pull the battery

    I've tried using the pwr+x recovery and nothing happens (it goes straight to the same moto screen, as if I had just pressed the power button). Booting into recovery from the pwr+m menu displays the original moto screen but doesn't go anywhere
  13. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    did you try to install the. 890 sbf?
  14. drbobmd
    Offline

    drbobmd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried per your suggestion and it's refusing to flash due to battery life, which I am currently resolving =] From what I have been reading, it has the symptoms of a hard brick (I think, and therefor could very well be completely wrong), except I can load the boot selector menu via m+power and enter AP Fastboot for 1Click/rsdlite (which, aside from current issues, i believe is doing its proper job).

    I went to Verizon today after discovering there was an unused and unclaimed upgrade on our family plan :icon_ banana: and obtained myself a shiny new SGS3 =] with one MAJOR drawback. One of developers' friendliest hardware manufacturers LOCKED THE DAMN ******* BOOTLOADER. So now it's like having my d3 again. With no keyboard. sdfljghadfghaskjvbavbqovn

    Sorry for ranting for split sec =]

    Moral of the story is fixing this little buddy is no longer mandatory as I have a new toy/communications device again, however I would like to resurrect it for a spare phone, d3 development testing and nostalgia's sake (it was my first android =]). I'm going to keep trying a few different things and if I can manage some success I'll be sure to let you know. Much obliged for your help :biggrin:
  15. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
    when you get your battery chargerd try to install the. 890 sbf sence you can still get into your bootloader we should be able to get this fixed..
  16. drbobmd
    Offline

    drbobmd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried .890 via both rsdlite and 1 click, resulting in nada. I am beginning to wonder if flashing too many images has somehow corrupted the partitioning scheme or the storage itself.

    From what I gathered at http://elinux.org/Android_Booting, this problem appears to occurr during the first stage bootloader as it is unable to boot into recovery despite rsdlite confirming a successful flash, never mind the normal boot sequence itself, and the boot loader has somehow been damaged although how that is possible I'm not sure as it is locked and transitively frustrating many d3 peeps (unless this could actually be the possibility of an exploit, which would kick ass! Prolly not the case, but doesn't hurt to be optimistic :) ).

    I just with I could see what the error message on the moto screen is (super duper tiny tiny). Is it possible to A) somehow view that error message via USB and B) completely wipe the entirevfile system clean? I'm actually installing sdk right now but quite frankly I have no clue what I'm doing

    Edit: A) adb is a friend. Now to learn how to use it
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
  17. RasMouSein
    Offline

    RasMouSein New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    any more input on that my friend :)
  18. codeman9090
    Offline

    codeman9090 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ovelayer, I'm having the same problem with the flashing process failed 6/18. It seems you no longer have the signature that links to the thread which has the 1click. Can you help me out?
  19. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.S
  20. codeman9090
    Offline

    codeman9090 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so much! Will this just unbrick my phone, or will it also allow me to flash with RSD Lite?
Search tags for this page

1clicknew sbf.exe

,
bricked droid 3
,

droid 3 rsd

,
fail no rsd lite 6/18
,
flash sbf cwm recovery on bricked droid 3
,
how to get around rsd lite cdt.bin error
,

rsd lite bricked my phone

,
rsd lite failed flashing process 6/18
,
rsd lite failed flashing process droid 3
,
rsd lite failed flashing process droid pro
,
rsd lite not finding phone droid 3
,
rsd lite not flashing droid 3
,
rsdlite droid 3 still stuck
,
using rsd lite to repair droid 3
,
xt862 failed flashing process 6/18 flash cdt.bin