Brick - no nothing...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Naebue, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. Naebue

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question for everyone... is it possible to brick your phone so bad it doesn't even turn on? I've got it plugged in and to my knowledge a full battery... I took the battery out, put it back in and still nothing... plugged in or not. I was in SPRecovery getting ready to upload a rom and it shut off on me. Any ideas?

    ~Nae
     
  2. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    try the rescue squad section. There's some good help in there too.
     
  3. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    hold up on the d-pad and THEN power on.. should take you to some menu. it's different than the X + power to get into recovery.. just try and see if you can get something that way
     
  4. Naebue

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    woops, forgot I was still in the rom section, lol! Thanks!
     
  5. Naebue

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried that, and I believe that would take you into safe mode, but still nothing.
     
  6. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    nae, moved you to rescue squad. hit me up on gtalk if you have it, address in in my sig
     
  7. Naebue

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Sam, now I get to figure out how to use gtalk ;)

    To me, it seems like the battery just died completely... I haven't had the phone long, since the beginning of the month I believe.

    Also, just an FYI... I'm tethered to an att phone for internet purposes in an edge network... so it might take me a few to respond
     
  8. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    plug it in without the battery and try to boot it up. i know some laptops won't boot if there is NO juice in the battery, even if it is plugged in, but will with power supply and no battery...
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,456
    Likes Received:
    2,794
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    What Rom was you flashing.
     
  10. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,456
    Likes Received:
    2,794
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Its not bricked its just a dead battery. Plug it into the wall for a faster charge if you can.
    If that does not work switch batteries with some one (or vzw) if it works your battery may have a bad cell. If that is the case replace the battery.
     
  11. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    charles, got it working.. not sure why though.. will update shortly
     
  12. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,456
    Likes Received:
    2,794
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Once you charge your battery I normally recommend people to not flash a rom unless they have at least 50% battery life. It is hard to judge the life from the notification bar. Install a battery widget that displays percentage. The battery in the notification do not show yellow until you are at 30% and that is too low to flash a rom.
     
  13. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    yup, dead battery. VERY dead. was trying to charge it for a few hours, must have had a bad connection. all is well now.
     
  14. Naebue

    Naebue Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to Sam (yea, I'm giving you credit for it), it's working fine now.

    I was trying to use SPRecovery to flash from bugless beast to something else. I have been trying all day to find a decent rom... not sure if they aren't installing correctly or what, but a few of them look the same.

    Tried UD10, didn't work
    HolyBlue, didn't work
    Blended Bliss, didn't work

    cyanogen (a week ago) and it was ok, didn't like the fonts and didn't/don't know how to change them
    DroidMod, don't like it due to it using up battery pretty quick and running hot
    jrummy was ok, don't remember what I didn't like about it
    dominator -- it was plain, didn't notice anything different about it
     
  15. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    dang dude.. your droid was probably just going on strike. :shocked: