Brand New Droid... newb!

Stacs1214

Reaction score
Well I got my droid and fully intended to trade it in for the Eris, but decided to give it a try! I am excited and hopeful yet very scared. I am brand new to smartphones.

Still trying how to even get the screen to flash on when I want to check messages.. just touching the screen doesn't do it.. ideas?

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Welcome!
Don't be overwhelmed, there's a lot to adjust to with the Droid, even coming from other smart phones. Don't be afraid to ask!

The screen by default, has to be woken up with the power button, and then the slide to unlock. (There are apps to bypass this 'slide' to unlock screen.... search for "myLock" in the forums :))

There are two ways to have the screen 'wake up' when you receive a message.
1) Handcent SMS - app in the Market, has setting for pop-up. A quick search of Handcent in the forums will give you all the info you need :)
2) SMS Pop-Up - another app, that integrates with the stock Messaging, and will 'wake' the screen when receiving a message. There are also threads on this.

OP
S

Stacs1214

Reaction score
Thank you for the information!I am loving the phone.. just need to figure stuff out.

shademar

Reaction score
Hey Stacs, welcome to the forum and good luck with your phone! If you have any questions or want recommendations for particular functions, feel free to ask. :D

job

Reaction score
New and love all other functions, but I'm having terrible voice muting problems during every call. The issue is regardless of how I hold the phone. Considering returning for a different VZW smartphone. Please help.

shademar

Reaction score
New and love all other functions, but I'm having terrible voice muting problems during every call. The issue is regardless of how I hold the phone. Considering returning for a different VZW smartphone. Please help.

Hi Job,

I'd recommend first trying the 'improve call quality' step described in this post: