Brain Cramp...help

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Mongoose, Jan 21, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't seem to remember...or, know how to revert back to the OEM SMS/MMS/Email system. I am currently using Handcent and need to switch back.

    I had posted earlier about having my text messages come thru "garbled" when using Swype/Shapewriter. Part of the solution was to determine whether Handcent may have been causing Swype to perform inconsistently so I have been running Handcent with Swype...now I want to switch back to the OEM SMS/MMS system to compare and can't seem to figure out how to do it...feeling kinda dumb...but could one of you tech guys respond...please...Thanks....:icon_ devil:
  2. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    isnt the solution just to uninstall handcent?

    I never used it so...

    =)
  3. Istus
    Offline

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    This works, yes.

    EDIT: You will need to be sure to turn notifications on in the stock messaging app. Just open it: Menu > Settings > Notifications.
  4. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL...Hey man...thats way to easy.

    Actually there is a selection screen in there somewhere and thats what I'm looking to access. I had to use it to select Handcent in the first place and now I need to get back to it...but I have forgotten how and all the "long pushes" and "taps" and "short pushes" I have done over the past few days have led to me to .... asking the question on the forum...Aughhh !!!! :icon_ devil:
  5. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK...did that..will see if I get my selection screen..Tx :icon_ devil:
  6. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    ~re-opened~
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2010
  7. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks RTT @Istus..I gave it a shot but that didn't work either. All I am looking for here is to get back to the default SMS system...right now that is Handcent.

    I know that there is an "options" screen that pops up giving me a choice between "Handcent" and "Messaging". I need to find that...

    Still stuck on Handcent...crazy thing...LOL :icon_ devil:
  8. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,137
    Likes Received:
    834
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +839
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    go into handcent in manage apps and clear defaults

    edit 1 : in case you don't know how to do that hit menu/settings/applications/manage apps/ choose handcent/clear defaults
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  9. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    @CK..trying that one...sounds logical...:icon_ devil:
  10. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,137
    Likes Received:
    834
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +839
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    It's not logical it's how it works : )

    when you clear that as your default open up a contact and choose to sms them. The option to choose Handcent or Messaging will appear put a check mark in "use as default" and choose messaging.

    Done.
  11. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Issue resolved...CK..thanks for the input. I now have my options screen back and will begin seeing how Swype works with the OEM messaging system...have a great day...

    @RTT...ok my friend...now you can shut it down. Thanks...:icon_ devil:
  12. Istus
    Offline

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you do not what to uninstall, this is what you must do. You beat me to it cereal killer. :)
  13. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,137
    Likes Received:
    834
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +839
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Excellent..another satisfied customer : )

    By the way I re-opened the thread lol.

    Glad your issue is fixed

    Enjoy
  14. Mongoose
    Offline

    Mongoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well...maybe not quite.!!!..it seems my entire SMS/MMS system just stopped working...gotta keep playing around for awhile..damn thing..LOL :icon_ devil:
  15. Istus
    Offline

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you reactivate your notifications for the default messager and disable them for Handcent?