1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bought the Verizon Signal Booster....still horrible connection with Droid.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by zzzonkout, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We're going to talk to Verizon on Monday, but I thought I'd post here first, to see if anyone knows anything about this.

    We just got new Droid phones. We previously had Verizon also, but the connection was horrible and we could barely ever make phone calls. Always losing signal, breaking up, etc.

    With the new Droids, we bought a Verizon Signal Booster. We set it up and all the lights are blue, and dialed the #48 number to verify we're under the new signal strength.

    But our phone still breaks up and we can't make phone calls.
    The internet is working fine though.

    I'm so bugged.
    We even have 4 bars when we make phone calls! Does anyone know anything about this kind of situation?
    Thanks.
  2. n0yxl
    Offline

    n0yxl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon Network Extender (femtocell)

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. I have a Moto Droid and a Verizon Network Extender @home, and it works great! The range is somewhat limited though. I think I will end up putting a bigger dual band antenna on it, only 50mw output.
  3. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it really such a good phone? I mean, the signal booster is right here in the living room and we still can't get a clear connection.
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I hate to post the obvious but have you done the *228 PRL update thing?
  5. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    a signal booster is only good if you have a signal.... lol bottom line is if your signal is too weak.... then your sol. A booster is only meant to increase a low signal.... not a ****ty one.

    I would suggest an external antenna and amplifier system.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
  6. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We tried to *228 this morning actually and it wouldn't let us do it. Said to call customer service.
    We had a signal before. It wasn't the best signal, but it wasn't like there never was a signal.
  7. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We just called it again and it is so static-y it's so annoying but it's playing music and says to hold cuz it's being programmed. So I will update ya in a sec :)
  8. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It said they are unable to program the phone at this time.
    It said to please call (number) from a landline phone.
  9. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If you want something that works... look into an external antenna and amplifier.. they work pretty well. Here is a pic showing how it's installed. They run from 500-900 bucks though.

    [​IMG]
  10. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yikes. We'd be best to pay off Verizon and switch to AT&T. When I had AT&T I had good service here. But before my boyfriend moved in he had Verizon, so just added me to his plan. Darn.
  11. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If ATT works where you are and verizon doesn't.... I say kick your boyfriend out of the house and tell him to take his verizon with him.... lol


    honestly... if you have good att coverage (which is rare) use them and get the iphone 4
  12. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Something to check is your VOIP quality.... Go to internetfrog.com and do a VOIP speed test. I've found that during peak times the quality is low (20-40%), and calls are really crappy... Any higher than 50% and its fine. I was told be Verizon to call Comcast.... Still need to do that...
  13. zzzonkout
    Offline

    zzzonkout New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go there with my phone internet or on the computer?
  14. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Internet....
  15. n0yxl
    Offline

    n0yxl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The network extender is a wireless VOIP. It's not an amplified repeater in this case.
  16. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Yes but he didn't say he bought a network extender..... he said be bought a signal booster..... I think there are some confused people here in this thread lol.
Search tags for this page
do verizon signal boosters work
,
does verizon signal booster work
,
how does verizon signal booster work
,
how to install verizon signal booster
,
signal booster for verizon internet
,
verizon booster
,
verizon booster box
,
verizon internet booster
,
verizon network extender breaking up
,
verizon reception booster
,
verizon signal amplifier
,

verizon signal booster

,
verizon signal booster not working
,
verizon signal booster number
,
verizon signal booster problems