Bootscreen and unroot

OrneryPossum

Reaction score
First of all, I would like to thank the owners of this forum for providing such a great resource for simpletons like me to use. While in real life I'm an Air Force officer, when it comes to Android rooting/modifications/etc. I know close to nothing.

Before I begin, I would like to let you all know that I HAVE searched Google and this forum for answers to my problem. While I have found solutions that look promising, I am still not comfortable with them as many of these threads are from the September/October timeframe (i.e. they're OLD!)

Here is my situation:

I bought/rooted my phone back in September. I can't remember exactly how I did it, but it WAS through USB debugging mode and a command prompt on my PC. I believe I downloaded a series of Motorola drivers, etc. but my memory is hazy at best. I successfully rooted my phone (got the little Superuser Ninja listed under my applications) and apps that required root all worked. I never put any custom themes/images/etc. on my phone - I only used it for Wireless Tether.

Shortly after rooting I was having Star Wars envy and put the custom bootscreen and sounds on my phone from the R2D2 Droid 2.

Then.. everything was fine for several months. I accepted the OTA update from Verizon sometime in October? and I am running version 2.3.2.. with my phone still rooted.

Now, here's my problem:

My microphone AND external speaker have both stopped working on my phone two days ago and I need to return it to Verizon under its warranty. I understand that Verizon will NOT accept my phone if it is rooted and if tampering is evident (i.e. custom bootscreen).

My question is this:

What is the easiest/simplest way to unroot my phone and return it to the stock bootscreen and sound files? I don't want a Verizon technician looking at my phone and saying, "What is this?"