1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

bootlooping

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Bigbootyman, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When flashing a rom, have you ever gotten the never ending bootloop? I was trying out Rubix tonight and something went horribly wrong when my Precious (Droid X) started to boot. I had nothing but the stupid "cube thing" loading over and over. My Precious is dead! Gotta flash SBF right? WRONG! If this happens to you, do a battery pull, hold the home key down, while you put replace the battery. You will boot into the real Factory recovery and although you can't retreive any backups, you can factory reset. This is a helluva lot better than flashing an SBF! My Precious didn't reset exactly, but it forced it to load. I was then able to reload my apps and go to ClockworkMod recovery and load my backups.
    Go ahead and tell your friends. I hope this helps and saves you hours of time.
  2. smitty6750
    Offline

    smitty6750 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This same thing happened to me and I tried same thing ur talking about and ut was a No go

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Factory reset will not get rid of a ROM. It will wipe all data/cache on the ROM you are currently running. So if you put rubiX on your phone and wanted to get rid of it you would have to install new ROM or run your nandroid backup.
  4. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everyone's a critic. My point is that once you are in a bootloop, you're pretty much screwed without a computer or flashing the SBF. Holding the home key, runs you into recovery. From there, selecting factory reset, actually forces the rom to load and clears the bootloop. I never said that it would get rid of the rom.
    If you only clear data/cache it doesn't do anything but that. The bootloop starts all over again when you restart. You have to select factory reset to force the rom onto the phone.
  5. icekyoob
    Offline

    icekyoob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank God for you! This saved my phone and my weekend. :)
Search tags for this page

bootlooping

,
bootlooping what is it
,
how to fix bootlooping htc amaze
,
how to flash factory images to a bootlooping verizon s4
,
how to stop htc one from bootlooping
,
how to stop my unlocked htc one from bootlooping
,
my phone is bootlooping
,
phone bootlooping
,
sgh1997 is bootlooping