Bootloop?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by gibby540, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I am waiting for the initial boot. It is not going back to the M logo but it is going between the "Droid" animation and the blue eye. Should I wait longer?
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Is this unthemed or themed? Unthemed had a bug that was fixed about an hour ago - if you are using themed - it should take 3-5 minutes for bootup. If it keeps going - you might have a kernel issue, in which case flash a different one over top of the rom ...
  3. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Crud, I was using ROM manager. Now I have to figure out how to flash a ROM over it now.
  4. grumpy
    Offline

    grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing here. I started a thread about it earlier. Can't dl from the internet or market place. If i figure it out iwill let you know.
  5. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I booted into recovery and am restoring a backup. I will let you know...
  6. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, restored my image. I will try a different kernel. I was hoping to at least get away with 1 ghz but I may have to settle for 800.

    Sent from my Droid
  7. grumpy
    Offline

    grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you got it working. :) H
  8. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I was not looking forward to explaining to my wife I bricked my phone. She would ban me from playing with it anymore. :p
  9. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +24
    you can mount usb in recovery. If you have the ROM zip, put it on SD card...install the ROM zip first. Then go back and mount usb and install the kernel. ROM ...then Kernel.

    The mount usb is in the partitions menu.
  10. backset
    Offline

    backset New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed 4.8 and it went into a bootloop. My first thought was "crap, how am I going to explain this to my wife?", funny how that works. But I booted into recovery and wiped data/cache, re-installed from SD, and all is well.

    Thanks Chevy for all the hard work!
  11. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am defying all logic now, I think. Since the recovery was so painless, I am going to try the 1 ghz med voltage kernel and see if that works. I will just try different kernels until I find one that works.
  12. gibby540
    Offline

    gibby540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried a few more and none are working. I am done.

    Sent from my Droid
  13. revchris
    Offline

    revchris New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem with the Stock Theme without wiping.
    I restored a backup and tried the blue theme with wiping and everything ran fine. (Used 1.1 LV kernel for both.)

    Restored again, choose bottom option on the first screen, 1.0LV, no wipe and has been running smoothly.

    EDIT::: Just check ROM Manager and it says I'm still on SS4.72 :(
  14. revchris
    Offline

    revchris New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay did the steps above except I choose "Stock Theme" on the first screen. No problems so far.