Bootloop and no recovery

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Wolfman5101, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. Wolfman5101

    Wolfman5101 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys its me again with another droid 2 problem. Well, I tried to intall Epic unleashed 3.0 using clockwork recovery/rom manager and koush's bootsrap. I was going to do the preinst(Why the heck would matt make take down important files if I needed them?). Now my droid either:
    A)gets stuck in the (stupid) purple diamond boot screen
    B)Gets stuck in the M logo
    or C)I press x and power at the same time, it comes up with a small Exclamation mark in a white triangle with a little green android next to it. The first time it did this it booted into recovery, but some1 bumped into me and i pressed reboot...
    So how can i fix this?
    And how long should i hold X and power, maybe i'm holding them wrong?
    I really need help guys, even if this phone isn't that good, I still need it fixed cause I cant get an new one.
     
  2. mikejoann

    mikejoann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is your answer

    Hey buddy,
    Hold power and X at the same time and then after you see the triangle recovery just press the search key (Magnifying glass) on the key board and all of your recovery options will come up. I have saved you my friend...lol Don't worry all is fine.
    dancedroiddancedroiddancedroid
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you get in to recovery try clearing the data and cache and see if that helps.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  4. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 This.

    And if that doesn't solve the problem, do a SBF and if it continues to bootloop after the SBF repeat instructions above and you should be good to go!
     
  5. m1ghtysauc3

    m1ghtysauc3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canton, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dustin, when I'm in recovery using the above method the only options are reboot, apply update.zip, wipe date and cache. There isn't an option to install from sdcard like in clockwork. Should I rename my sbf file to update.zip in case get a "stuck on M" or bootloop?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, your in Stock Recovery bro, you need to wipe data/cache from there and reboot your phone to see if you can get the phone to boot up into the Android System.
    Like so:
    1. Boot into Stock Recovery (Power + X)
    2. Once you see the Android with the Exclamation Point hit SEARCH on your keyboard.
    3. Wipe Cache
    4. Wipe Data
    5. Reboot System

    Try that, and let me know your results, then I'll proceed to help you get everything setup with Clockwork! :)
     
  7. m1ghtysauc3

    m1ghtysauc3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canton, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah it's all good. There's nothing wrong with my phone. I was just asking just in case I ever needed it because I know nothing about SBFing. Luckily I've never had to.
     
  8. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never rename your SBF file, SBF files should not be renamed and are to be applied Via PC. Not by update.zip unless your using the TBH way to get to .340 then you have the option to rename and install that way.

    But with that said, you will have to install that via Clockwork Mod and not Stock Recovery.
     
  9. reyrey2435

    reyrey2435 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    fremont, cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i bricked my phone as well im stuck at moto logo what shall i do?
     
  10. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hate to answer your question with a question but, need to know what you did/were trying to do first to be able to better help you. :)



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  11. reyrey2435

    reyrey2435 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    fremont, cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    try to flash a new rom and got stuck on logo and then went into clockwork mod after battery pull tried flashing an old rom forgot to mount now its stuck on moto logo
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    I see. Can you manually get into recovery?



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  13. reyrey2435

    reyrey2435 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    fremont, cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats by holding power and x right if so yes
     
  14. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    That boots you into Clockworkmod Recovery?



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  15. reyrey2435

    reyrey2435 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    fremont, cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    no brings up exclamation wit droid guy
     
Search tags for this page
android guys amd triangle exclamation
,
coolpad quattro recovery mode android man with a triangle ex
,

droid bionic exclamation point android

,
droid phone stuck with white triangle and exclamation point
,
droid x comes up with green man triangle with exclamation po
,
droid x white triangle yellow exclamation point
,
motorola droid 3 exclamation triangle
,
motorola droid 3 triangle exclamation point
,
motorola droid 3 yellow exclamation triangle
,
yellow exclamation mark boot loop