Bootloader Only (Will Not Boot To O.S.) - Motorola Droid OG A855

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by vazersecurity, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, here's what happened. I was out yesterday and it was really hot. I don't know if this is what did it, but yeah. Umm I was out with some friends and I noticed that it was in the bootloader. I don't know how, but it was. I was not really happy. It happened before, and I had no trouble getting it out of the loop and getting back to the O.S. But now, it won't do anything. I tried multiple .sbf files through RSD Lite v5.6 Muti-Flash / Multi-Flex Tool. The last two flashes I used the VZW_A855_FRG83G_QSC6085BP_C_01.43.01P_SW_UPDATE.sbf And no luck. I got an error code (0x70BE) During switching to BP Pass Through Mode. I got into the original recovery and tried to do a factory rest. But it says E: open dev and fails to do whatever this means. E:Reached max number of retries, giving up... E:Failed to init the engine! aux_status = 1. Bp clear failed. Please help this newbie.

    ---
    VazerSecurity
    ROM: Unknown (Not-Present on Device)
    Recovery: ClockWorkMod Recovery v2.5
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  2. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    This may sound dumb, but is your d-pad stuck in the "up" position?
     
  3. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, haha. If it were, it would just boot to the bootloader, sorry, I didn't put that in the original post. It shows the Motorola Logo on startup. But it won't go to the boot animation. I have ClockWorkMod recovery installed. I hate SPRecovery.
     
  4. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    have you tried to just SBF a custom recovery on it?
     
  5. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
  6. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have flashed Clockworkmod onto it. Then I restored the previous ROM I had before all this happened. But I will check it out.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  7. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I flashed a recovery that I found from your link you gave me. What should I do now?
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    What recovery? I'd try to get a "pass" from rsd lite, then go from there. But we'll help you regardless

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
  9. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It passed. I flashed ClockWorkMod recovery. What should I do now? Should I flash a ROM of choice or a specified ROM from you?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  10. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    if you can boot into recovery just download any rom of choice thats available
     
  11. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    +1. There's some roms in that link I posted. They're called Bugless Beast

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
  12. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I'll check them out. If they don't work, is my A855 bricked?
     
  13. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find them in the link? Where are they?
     
  14. vazersecurity

    vazersecurity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I got a tip from one of my hacker buddies, and he said that it might be the baseband that is causing all this trouble. Is that possible?
     
  15. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Where you able to flash a rom? If your droid is from Verizon, the basebands are correct.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
Search tags for this page
a855 bootloader mode
,
bootloader only
,
download custom rom motorola sholes a855 verizon
,
droid 3 will not boot
,
droid a855 -101 error
,
droid bootloader
,
motorola a855 bootloader mode
,
motorola droid a855 stuck on bootloader screen
,
motorola droid not booting
,

motorola droid will not boot