Booting multiple roms....

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by sk8, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have multiple roms backed up and you want to switch between roms do you still need to wipe data and cache before switching?
    I've got multiple backups but have ran each rom off a clean install. Before I boot back to Rubix I'd like to know if I need to wipe data and cache first thanks.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. droidxchat

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nandroid backups shouldn't require wipes of anything, someone correct me if I'm wrong
     
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Before restoring a backup always wipe data and cache. Same as when installing a ROM, you don't want data from one ROM mixing with another. Alway wipe.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  4. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured to be safe you should wipe data and cache before going back to another backup but was unsure if it was only neccessary on initial install.
    Anyone else? One Yes and one No.
    Ill wait until more people chime in. Or if someone could direct me to a source, I did search but not high and low.
    Is no one switching between multiple roms on a regular basis?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If planning on switching from one ROM being ran to another you have stored as a backup, yes, you do a wipe.

    You won't "lose"anything because your restore will place the ROM in question back on the phone with the data at the time of the backup.
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I switch all the time. Here's how I can best put it. You make a backup and wipe. Don't like the ROM has a few issues for you. You restore your backup without wiping. The data causing the issues is still there and still on your phone. You don't want data mixing from one ROM to another. Even more so if going back and forth between froyo and GB ROMS.
    Besides, why not wipe, its not a big step. You won't have to set anything up when restoring your backup,everything returns as it was when you made the backup. Home screens, apps, setting, everything.
    Wiping between flashing anything is a "best practice" type thing.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  7. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. I'm not bothered by wiping data and cache just wanted to be clear. I've been in a few bootloops and wanted to avoid them.


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Wiping is the best way to avoid issues....and remember....wipe front to back ;)

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  9. eriscrazy

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha classic!



    Sent from my Liberated Droid X!
     
  10. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yikes. I must have been doing it wrong, all this time..... are you sure it front to back and not back to front?
    Thanks Stafford.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    No problem man.....always here to help :D

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  12. chazall1

    chazall1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good Information, Thanks