1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

booting into recovery

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by christianek145, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. christianek145
    Offline

    christianek145 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a rooted phone with rom manager on it and i decided i was going to put a rom on it but first i wanted to make sure everything was working ok so i turned off my droid 2 and then pushed the down volume and power button down to boot into recovery i have never done this before but it didnt work i can go into rom manager and choose boot into recovery but hows that going to help me if my phone gets bricked. My phone was rooted by a very trusted source but what should i do. what do i need.
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Unfortunately with a Droid 2 having a locked bootloader you are unable to boot into custom recovery (clockwork for example) from a powered off state. If you get stuck in a boot loop the only definite way to get out of it is to SBF your device.
  3. christianek145
    Offline

    christianek145 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about bootstrapper i did some research and apparently that will work
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Bootstrap will work but again not from a powered off state. You need to be booted into the OS first and then use bootstrap to get to clockwork.
  5. christianek145
    Offline

    christianek145 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thank you
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Plug the phone in then pull the battery and clockwork should appear if you have already used droid2 bootstrapper
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I was never able to get that to work for me but reading your post I am wondering if I was doing it out of order or taking an incorrect step. Looks like I am going to be playing with the old faithful DX tonight :)
  8. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Yup worked ALMOST every time.