Boot loop

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by SwagTech, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. SwagTech
    Offline

    SwagTech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I awoke to my phone booting up. After a few minutes I did a battery pull. It rebooted normally. I checked the battery stats and I can tell it was looping for a
    couple of hours while I was sleeping. Before going to sleep, I deleted some downloaded Roms and GAPPS. I'm running AOKP and Franco kernel. I did not delete any of the previous downloads of this rom. Do you think this has anything to do with the boot loop?
    And if so, what should I do?


    View attachment 51385
     
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Did you clear the dalvik cache before flashing the new verison of AOKP?
     
  3. SwagTech
    Offline

    SwagTech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I have been using this Rom for awhile. For some reason I decided to delete those other downloads. I flashed the Rom successfully about 2 weeks ago. I haven't had any issues until this morning.
     
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Been running AOKP myself for awhile now and just flashed b38 about a week ago, no boot loop or even rebooting problems.

    I would see if it keeps boot looping again overnight. If it does I would probably start with a fresh ROM. I know it can be a pain to do and getting your settings the way you like it all over again.
     
  5. SwagTech
    Offline

    SwagTech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I just walked in my room to find it rebooting again. I waited a while to see if its just rebooting or looping. Its the later, so I'm about to re flash this Rom. I was just bragging to my coworker that I have not had any problems since I rooted. I was trying to convince him to do it. He just got a nexus on Sprint.
    I will be back in a few. I know it's that devil on my shoulder trying to convince me to get the S3... Not going to give in!!! I love this phone. Lol
     
  6. SwagTech
    Offline

    SwagTech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a thought... Do you think it could be the kernel? I recently flashed the latest nightly of Franco. Im going to flash the stable build and see what happens.
     
  7. valid
    Offline

    valid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have DX. Having issues with it. SO I used RSD Lite and bootloader v 30.04 is install sbf file VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01.SBF. All it does know is shows white M and the the mobo red eye. What step did I miss? Thanks. p.s. I did look around before posting this but could not locate answer.
     
  8. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    I would try going into stock recovery and doing a data and cache wipe then try to reboot
     
  9. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    Yup after a SBF if you hang you need to wipe data. Turn the phone off. Hold the home key and then the power key until you see a screen with a triangle on it. At that screen press volume up and volume down simultaneously to enter stock recovery. Wipe data and reboot.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  10. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is it the volume rocker on froyo or another key, its been so long since I have been in stock recovery on froyo I can't remember
     
  11. valid
    Offline

    valid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is what I did:

    With phone off:

    1) Hold down the home button, then press and hold the power button (at the same time) until you see a /!\ sign on the screen.
    2) When you see the /!\ press the search button.
    3) You will be in the recovery screen.
    4) Hit data wipe, factory reset.


    I did the sbf to see if it would fix my wifi not working problem. It did. So somewhere along the line after rooting and ROMing it broke. Now to re-root. THANKS all for the reply's. Merry Christmas!
     
  12. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    No problem, glad to help! :)
     
Similar Threads
  1. gothdroid
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  2. driodman
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,459
  3. gothdroid
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    5,402
  4. Rotech72
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,136
  5. valid
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...
Search tags for this page

boot loop