Boot loop, plz halp

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by Picnicpanther, Jun 8, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey,

    This is my first post. I followed all the install directions (this is the fourth custom rom I've installed), and this is my second time trying to install Liberty, and this is the second bootloop I've encountered. The yellow hand circle boot loader thing comes on screen for about 3 seconds, then goes back to a blank screen for about 10 seconds, and repeats. I started by wiping my data and cache, and I've wiped data and cache since this has happened (I can access the exclamation-point menu). What do?
  2. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can someone tell me how to get back to clockwork recovery? I think I made a nandroid restore point but I'm using a mac and I'm not friends with anyone who uses a PC, so I can't do that Moto utility thing. Someone please get back to me soon, I have work calls I need to take!
  3. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +12
    What recovery do u have installed? And for clockworkmod as well as other recoveries u can find an update.zip for them just flash that zip in ur recovery and reboot back into recovery and u'll see clockworkmod recovery. From what u described though it doesn't sound like ur out of luck though shouldn't have that bad a problem and u'll be fine I'll check back tomorrow when I'm on my laptop to give u further assitance but just google for clockworkmod recovery update.zip and then mount ur usb in ur recovery put it on ur sdcard and flash it from the recovery u do have then just reboot ur recovery and u'll be on clockworkmod

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know exactly what recovery I have, but I had Bootstrapper installed before the phone went kaput.
  5. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so I tried to go into the Bootloader, but it says it can't program on account of low battery; I left it plugged in (to the wall adapter) all night last night.
  6. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    It doesn't tell you that after SBFing and installing the two-part ROM you have to wipe data/factory reset and clear cache. I was stuck in the boot loop for this same reason.

    From phone off, hold home button, hold power button, should get you into CW. Then do the data wipe/factory reset/cache clear (I don't remember exactly what they say but there are two options and you need to do both) and you should be ok.
  7. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +12
    I would say don't sbf yet doesn't sound like your problem is that bad especially if you can get in recovery but you said you had an excelmation mark in recovery so it sounds like the stock one or sprecovery i think has one as well on top of an android. If you have sp recovery then you're very well off as well just install this zip if you want clockworkmod recovery

    [RELEASE][06/01/2011] ClockworkMod Recovery - current version - 3.0.0.5 - xda-developers

    There are zips and img there then just restore your backup
  8. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I can't get my phone to show up on my computer when I plug it in to the USB port, even when I go to the Bootloader and the Android System Recovery.
  9. Rezael
    Offline

    Rezael Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your battery is low you wont be able to flash or do anything without a working OS. You can't even charge the battery. I had this issue where I was bootlooping and my battery died. I had to take my phone to Verizon and had one of their sales people charge my battery with their DROID x. And then I was able to sbf and get my phone up n running again.
    Goodluck.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well it doesn't show up on your computer unless you mount your usb mass storage but yea you will need to get a charge to do anything there are some recoveries out there that will let you charge but if you don't have one currently then you can't flash one or really do anything so you're going to need to get your battery charged up a bit before doing anything
  11. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the Verizon store just informed me that since the X2 has come out, they don't have any spare Xs with which to charge my phone, and I don't know anyone who has an X. I think I've hit a wall.
  12. Rezael
    Offline

    Rezael Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are lying. Try again tomorrow. They don't want to help. Try your mall those sales people are more inclined to help. Or another local Verizon store. Worst case scenario u can overnight me ur battery. Ill charge it and ship it back at your expense.

    Btw look at the employees phones on their belt loops someone in there had to have a DROID x
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just thought of something: it won't go into the bootloader, but it will go into the exclamation menu where I can do the update.zip, wipe/factory reset, and wipe cache. If I can get a mini-sd adapter and put a file on that, would I be able to do something from that menu?
  14. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you already tried wiping data and cache? If not, try that first.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. Picnicpanther
    Offline

    Picnicpanther New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did, and I'm doing it again as we speak. I assume you mean from the Android System Recovery, which I just call the "exclamation menu" cause I'm a noob. I've tried doing the wipe data/Factory reset option about 3 times now, which doesn't seem to help the situation at all. I've also done the wipe cache partition as many times, but with no results. It still just goes back to the yellow Liberty insignia and then continues the boot loop.