Boot animations do not work?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by joeybarclay, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    My boot animations are broken i cant get any to work. I went into settings and enabled them and then choose one from the settings. It just shows an M until i get a lockscreen. I then tried moving one of my boot animations to /system/media and got the same thing what do i do?
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
  2. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try enabling them and redownloading it.
     
  3. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    That didn't work I know the boot animation is in the right place and works but the phone just stays at M until i get a lockscreen. On a side note my power button just sunk into the phone :icon_eek:
     
  4. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm, could be hardware issue.. but doubt it. can try in ud menu disabling boot, reboot, then enabling and reboot again.
     
  5. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ive tried quite a few combinations I don't think I will be able to get it to work without reflashing but that wont matter since it looks like i need a new phone.
     
  6. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright, sucks. cant pop the button back out?
     
  7. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No it fell in while i was pressing it, I cant get it to pop back out. It still works but i fear it may fall in more so I am going to ask verizon for a third refurbished phone.
     
  8. Troops2990

    Troops2990 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issue, i have tried to enable them 3-4 times now and nothing... any ideas??
     
  9. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would try reinstalling the rom, possibly redownloading it then reinstalling. may just be a corrupt download. no need to wipe data, just install over.

    if that doesnt fix it......

    but if you want to 100% you can do a wipe of data and a clean install with a new downloaded copy to be 100% sure.
     
  10. Troops2990

    Troops2990 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ill give that a try, it worked on the first boot after install but when i tried to change the animation in the settings all it would do is show the "m" from there on out
     
  11. Troops2990

    Troops2990 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried that and it worked, it now shows the stock animation and i am too scared to try to change it now since its working, since thats what broke it last time. Thanks
     
  12. crazyjoker2

    crazyjoker2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine boot animations are working fine.
    I flashed 1.0.0 over UD8.0 without wiping..
     
  13. luigi90210

    luigi90210 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just went to the UD menu and changed my boot animation the the nexus animation(the usual one i use) and it is working for me

    try doing that