Boot animation

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by snowcraig, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. snowcraig

    snowcraig New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to remove the droid x boot animation and load the stock animation?
     
  2. Fault

    Fault Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not the droid x, I think its nexus one. Anyway all you need is the bootanimation zip file. Just google default droid boot animation

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    In addition, you can either push to /data/local/bootanimation.zip, or to /system/media/bootanimation.zip.

    If you put in /data and you wipe - you'll get my bootanimation back. If you push to /system you can wipe and still have the stock animation.
     
  4. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    495
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +545
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 3, straight stock
    I think you have to be rooted, on the Droid X, before you can change the bootanimation.

    -Mike
     
  5. snowcraig

    snowcraig New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, for some reason I can't copy and paste from the SD card to the main memory of the phone, specifically the system folder. It won't let me delete the existing boot animation file either. Can anyone help me with that? Sorry for being a noob.
     
  6. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    You have to make sure the /system partition is writeable - in a terminal, enter:

    sysrw

    when you are done moving/copying/deleting ... enter:

    sysro
     
  7. snowcraig

    snowcraig New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still not having any luck. Should I try a different file explorer? I'm using astro.
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Root Explorer is the End All of all file Managment/Explorer applications, what you are trying to do would have been done already

    It is a Root App-
     
  9. snowcraig

    snowcraig New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Used root explorer did the trick!
     
  10. ecfiffer

    ecfiffer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    M'eh I go through terminal and now I gots the r2d2 bootanni ;) its a little choppy due to the frame rate but oh well
     
  11. Bro Duran

    Bro Duran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hey ChevyNo1

    what are you doing on here. Get back to your vacation :)
    can't wait for v4.8