1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Boot animation help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by 06blaksi, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. 06blaksi
    Offline

    06blaksi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    buffalo, ny
    ok, I'm a n00b. I've just recently rooted my D1 and want to change the boot animation. I have the zip file and have placed it into the /system/media folder along with my .ogg file for the sound. The only thing that is happening is the "droid eye" logo is gone and I now have the android word logo which is totally not whats in the zip file. Am I correct in the placement of this file? Is there something else that I need to do?
    Thanks in advance for any light you can shed for me
  2. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check ur file permissions on the animation u installed

    Make sure its atleast rw-r--r--(644)

    Also did u modify The zip file at all or u just download?
  3. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Yea just check permissions and all the android word boot animation is just built in and shows only when no other boot animations are present /system/media should work fine for you /data/local is another location however not sure if you can play sounds from there but i haven't ever had a boot animation with sound.
  4. 06blaksi
    Offline

    06blaksi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    buffalo, ny
    I didnt modify the zip, I got it from this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...who-boot-logos-boot-animations-wallpaper.html I tried both with sound and without but neither seems to help. I have permissions as far as I know

    Edit:
    I went to view permissions and it says the system was read only. I am running shadowrom and unchecked the read only box but when i reboot it defaults back to read only. Is there a way I can change that
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  5. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    The system being read only doesn't matter that's not what u want u want the permissions of the bootanimation.zip i can use root explorer to check this simply browse to where u placed the zip then long press the zip and select permissions it will display a bunch of check boxes for user, group other and then read write and execute that's where u will set ur permissions

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fyi shadow rom uses a custom install location

    Edit: I mean custom file name

    Rename to realbootanimation.zip and install
    To /system/media/ and try :)
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  7. 06blaksi
    Offline

    06blaksi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    buffalo, ny
    sweet! that did the trick. thanks for your help :)
  8. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Glad you got it working