1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Blur on the D3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Darksthour, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    So I have been giving blur a chance on my Droid3 for a week or so. I was using GoLauncher and ADW ex on it to try and get that stock and honeycomb look I have been missing. One night though I decided to give blur a chance and so far I actually really like it. The ability to move apps and widgets around the screen without having to delete one from the screen is amazing. I can't believe other Home launcher apps don't have this as an option. My main problem is a few things. I like having a 5x4 lineup for my icons for more room, the redraw and sometimes the 3d effect is a little too much. The 5x4 I can live without and the 3d effect also isn't a big deal but the redraw kills me sometimes. It reminds me of running GB on my OG droid and makes me look for the "lock home into memory" setting. Anyone else know about this? Is it happening to everyone or do I have something running that's killing it? I would think some stock 2.3.4 with more ram and a dual-core processor would stop things like this. Sorry about the rant but I feel like I needed to say this.
  2. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I feel you on the redraw. I gave the stock blur a week when I first got the phone and then when back to my Go Launcher. There are some really nice features, but the redraw was an annoying aspect that made me think of the GB on my OG as well.

    Sent from my Hitchhiker's Guide mark 2
  3. militant
    Offline

    militant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running launcher pro, and using the "Folder Organizer" app and have 6 "widget" folders that link to all my apps seperated by category, a 4x1 beautiful widget weather clock, circle battery widget, and a few other little widgets, all on my main homescreen, and I get about a .5-1 second redraw occasionally on the same 4 or 5 icons. It's really he only visually unpleasing thing about the phone.
  4. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I really like blur on the droid 3, the only thing killing me is the frequent redraw issue. If that were fixed, I could use blur permanently.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I did try a switch from blur to a stock adw ex and i seem to be getting the same redraw. I like adw more than blur and go launcher however I got no redraw at all from go launcher. Makes me think if the redraw for that 1 second is worth over a home app I like more.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love blur but hate the redraws but I also love the launchers but I loose the ability to use the cool contacts widget with them. I dont like to loose things that I like and use. So im just waiting for a bug fix update to see if it gets fixed the redraws I mean.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    This is just a hunch, but I think you may have better luck waiting for Launcher Pro to support the Quick Contacts widget before Moto addresses the redraw, although I don't really know how active the LP guys are.
  8. celtic11
    Offline

    celtic11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's redraw? Is that where I hit the home button and it takes half a second for everything to load?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    That is correct

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    He's actually in the process of rewriting LP. I follow him on twitter. I think an update should be released soon.

    [​IMG] @fedecarnales Federico Carnales


    To those asking about the LP rewrite: I'm still working on it, almost every day. I'll post news as soon as there's any news to post. Thanks!



    You can follow him here: Twitter
  11. celtic11
    Offline

    celtic11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you guys experiencing more redraw than I am or just less patient. Mine is never more than half a second where on my OG with group it was like 20 seconds. I've only had my d3 for a week so im hoping its not going to get worse.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  12. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I don't believe it will get worse. It's sort of a game between what widgets you have and what apps you are coming out of that affect the redraw. For me, it was the worst when I was coming back from things like dolphin browser or a cpu intensive game. Plus I run a lot of things like fancy widget, facebook widget, biz calendar, etc. So for me, there tended to be a 15-20 second redraw with Blur. That's not to say I don't get any with Go Launcher, but it is far less frequent and takes only a few seconds, even running a lwp.

    Sent from my Hitchhiker's Guide mark 2
  13. Markster1
    Offline

    Markster1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HTC Sense on my Incredible 2 lets me move apps around but not quite as smooth as droid 3 does.

    Sent from my Incredible 2
  14. celtic11
    Offline

    celtic11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotcha. Thanks. The only widget I use is the power widget so mine all loads up pretty fast. After my experience with the OG I can understand that being frustrating.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  15. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    So last night I was playing a game and it was getting a bit sluggish when playing. Then all of a sudden I got a reboot. Not too worried about the reboot I got used to them on my OG droid running Liquid so I'm used to it. But everything runs smoother. I would have to say then if your phone is slowing down just shut down and start up again. See if that helps with any problems. Yea it's a pain in the ass but I think it's something we will have to do until root is achieved.
  16. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Launcherpro plus largely fixed any lag I had on my d3. In particular, the app drawer tends to be fairly slow at times in blur, but with lpp with the drawer speed increased, it opens instantly
  17. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Anyone know of any third party launchers that will properly display the quick contacts widget? I really fell in love with that widget, but the stock launcher was way to laggy so I had to move to launcher pro. The only motorola widget thai won't run is the quick contacts from what I can tell...

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  18. Riley
    Offline

    Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    One thing you can do on any android phone to make it feel a tad snappier over all with any home replacement or Blur is to go into your settings menu, display, animations and check 'no animations'
Search tags for this page

steel droid lock home memory