Blur and Blurless

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by yhwhsozo, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. yhwhsozo

    yhwhsozo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking forward to this new ROM with the powers combined. My one and only request...

    Please make an option for Blur or Blurless.

    I'm rocking GummyJar... and love it. But I really like some of the Blur apps. Such as the Social Network widgets.

    Thanks for all your time and consideration!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. PalmerCurling

    PalmerCurling Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    On of Liberty's main pillars is freedom- from pre loaded crapware. Including blur-ware would sort of defeat the purpose (though I agree with you, I specifically prefer the blur calendar over aosp) if you want a nice mix between blur and blurless run ApeX. You wont regret it.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  3. yhwhsozo

    yhwhsozo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see your point. But maybe let the Blur apps be able to be added to the ROM. I ran apex for a little bit. But gumjar runs so smooth and fast.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. PalmerCurling

    PalmerCurling Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran GJ too at stock clock, and actually found ApeX to run far smoother on my phone- while underclocked. Option is nice, but think of fission- pure Android, and think of this as useful additions to that.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  5. kejar31

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    There will be the option to install a few blur apps from within the Liberty Toolbox... Not many just the Alarm, Keyboard, Camera, FM Radio, Music and MyNet..

    Notice, all these apps are of descent to high quality and require little to no extra blur back-end software to run. Things such as the Dialer, Contacts, Calendar, Email and Messaging would require a complete rework to the base and take the ROM in an undesirable direction.
     
  6. Slow88lx

    Slow88lx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about things like DLNA and sound cancellation during phone calls?
     
  7. kejar31

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tried to get DLNA to work bu tit started to get messy.. sound cancellation (something I didn't even know about) is more than likely part of the dialer.
     
  8. phrozen087

    phrozen087 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to hear this. While I know some people like blur I'm glad to get as far away from it as possible.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk.
     
  9. reznorfan0

    reznorfan0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed, its the whole point of the ROM. I do miss the blur dialer and contacts a bit, but its worth the sacrifice to run as smoothly as gummy does. Besides, there are a few pretty functional 3rd party dialers out there.
     
  10. cruckus

    cruckus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im assuming no hdmi out too then
     
  11. Batbriel

    Batbriel New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about the Gallery, I mean I'll survive with the 3D Gallery if everything else is pure awesomeness LOL , but I rather have a 2D gallery, the stock moto-gallery if u will :D
     
  12. kejar31

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    2D Gallery, not the blur one, will be available in the toolbox..
     
  13. Batbriel

    Batbriel New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ok I'm Happy dancedroid
     
  14. jvward

    jvward New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if this works or not. Its not a deal breaker for me if it doesn't but it would be nice if it did. I used to use it back when I was on tranquility pretty often
     
  15. rolandct

    rolandct Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this a never then for DLNA or possible in the future? Not to nag but just wanted clarification as DLNA is something I use.
     
Search tags for this page

what is blur-ware