Bluetooth Voice Dial

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by myk.robinson, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. myk.robinson
    Offline

    myk.robinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Forgive my ignorance, but I am a bluetooth virgin and bought my first bluetooth earpiece today. I am running PE4.2 on my motorola droid 1 and have the earpiece paired without a problem. I can call and receive calls just fine. However, I can't seem to figure out how to activate voice dial or google search over bluetooth.

    Is this an issue with the headset or with the phone? If it matters ,the earpiece is an inexpensive Jabra BT2070.

    Thanks for any assistance/advice any of you can provide.
    -myk
  2. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    I have a Jabra Extreme and use bluetooth voice dialing all the time. To activate voice dialing, I just tap the "talk" button on my headset (the same one you would tap to answer a call with the bluetooth headset) and the box pops on the phone saying Bluetooth Voice Dialer with a blinking microphone, while I hear "Speak Now" in my headset. I either tell it to call someone in my contacts (for example, "Call Ryan Reynolds" -- j/k, I only wish he were in my contacts!) or I say "Call XXX-XXX-XXXX" -- the phone number I want dialed, if not in my contacts. The name of the person in your contacts or the phone number will be repeated back in the headset.

    If you don't have a manual for your Jabra that explains how to complete bluetooth voice dialing on your headset, I'm willing to bet you could find one online with a search.
  3. myk.robinson
    Offline

    myk.robinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    you're running the droid 1? If that is the case, it may be a limitation of the headset. I read on the motorola forums that there was an issue with the phone itself not being able to do this, but i figured that people got this to work through their custom roms.

    Anyone else able to confirm the ability to press the button on the headset to activate either voice dial? If so, please also post the make and model of your headset. I assume if you're in this area of the board, you're running PE on a droid 1.

    thanks,
    -myk
  4. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    As I said before, I'm using the Jawbone Extreme (which has the added benefit of A2DP for streaming music and sound from YouTube, etc., from the Droid). Bluetooth voice dialing has worked for me since Froyo. It worked on the Jawbone 2, as well.
  5. myk.robinson
    Offline

    myk.robinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Interesting. I am looking at my manual http://img7.jabra.com/sites/Jabra/GNImages/Products/WirelessHeadset/BT2070/BT2070_UM1_NA_US_6133.pdf It shows to support the same commands as your more expensive model. Perhaps I just need to try a few different lengths of pressing the button. Voice dialing is listed in the product manual.

    I'll try again tomorrow after a full charge. Besides, i left it at my office :)
    Assuming there are no special settings I need to change in the phone, looks like good old fashioned user error in this case.

    Thanks,
    -myk
  6. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    I haven't needed to do anything on the phone other than making sure bluetooth was on and my headset was paired and connected.
  7. myk.robinson
    Offline

    myk.robinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    It works, i just had to hold the button a little longer than I was holding it.

    Thanks,
    -myk
Search tags for this page
activate voice command through blue tooth
,
extreme voice xxx
,
how to activate voice dial on jabra extreme 2 on galaxy 3
,
how to activate voice dialing in jabra extreme 2
,
how to voice dial using jabra extreme
,
jabra bluetooth voice dialing
,

jabra extreme 2 voice command

,
jabra extreme 2 voice commands
,

jabra extreme 2 voice dialing

,

jabra extreme voice dialing

,
making a call using jabra extreme
,
myk model xxx