Bluetooth Dialing

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by debacle, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. debacle

    debacle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically, the main reason I rooted was I wanted 2.2 for the bluetooth dialing. Now that I have it, I love it and feel so much better talking on the phone while driving.

    But that isnt enough... :)

    Is it possible to change the voice which the bluetooth uses? To me it is more grating than my ex mother-in-law and that woman's voice could make a deaf man scream at her to shut up. That, and I would also like to be able to accept or reject the number the phone THINKS I wanted to call. Lets face it, sometimes the phone dosent quite understand what you want it to do. I have accidentally had it call my boss when I was supposedly in bed deathly ill, but actually playing in a poker tournament at a casino. I activated bluetooth and told it to 'call matt'. Next think I know 'Calling Mark'. OH SHOOT!
     
  2. Wolfy

    Wolfy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    In a house
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the voice is actually part of the bluetooth device itself and not anywhere on the phone. In my case, I have the Jawbone ICON. With it, you can hook it up USB and go to their website and download different voice themes. There's both male and female themesets and while you can only have one installed at a time, you can easily just connect up and load a different one in anytime you want. I chose this really hot sounding Laura Croft type British chick. When you power up the bluetooth, she says 'I'm activated - ready for action'...lol

    Here's a link to it: MyTALK Personalize & Update Your Jawbone ICON I don't know of any other bluetooth that offers this feature.

    As far as the accidental dialing, I've had that too. In the Jawbone's case, it repeats back to you what it thinks you said ("calling Jim Smith on mobile"). If it's wrong, I simply tap the talk button on the bluetooth like you were hanging up, and the call is immediately disconnected.
     
    #2 Wolfy, Jul 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  3. debacle

    debacle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Voice was different and it allowed a confirmation when I had my old Glyde. With the Droid, it is different.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I had a blue ant q1 and I had two voices. First voice would be "say a command" and I would say contacts, it would say "connecting to phones voice contact. Then I heard a really weak female voice and I would give the contacts name.

    I switched to a cheap Plantronics head set and I can clearly here the female voice. I'm sure it was the same I heard with my Blue Ant Q1.
     
  5. debacle

    debacle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have looked into it and i can't find that ability on my motorola headset. Not even sure which model it is


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. kkwst2

    kkwst2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Different types of bluetooth dialing

    I think the two different types of voice dialing are being confused here. Some people are talking about voice dialing handled by the hands-free device, be it a headset or car kit. Some headphones have a voice dialing app built in and you either have to program it with phone numbers or a select few will import your contacts from your phone. In this case, the prompting and number selection are handled by the hands free device and the device then tells the phone what number to dial. In this case, the voice has nothing to do with the paired phone.

    The OP is talking about voice dialing handled by the phone itself, in which case the voice prompts are simply passed through from the phone to the headset and in this case the voice is phone-dependent. Don't have my X quite yet, but my understanding is that early droid devices didn't do bluetooth voice dialing at all (so you would have needed the hands free device to handle voice dialing, like the BlueAnt Q does), but the X does by report which is one of the reasons I'm finally jumping to Android.
     
    #6 kkwst2, Jul 19, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  7. debacle

    debacle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, anything < 2.1 does not handle bluetooth voice dialing. You could long press the bluetooth device to redial last number called, or use Car Home (I think it was), or even physicaly dial or select the contact and it would route it to the headset.

    I have Froyo 2.2 installed and that has bluetooth dialing enabled. So unless you are rooted or have a Nexus at this time you cannot do handsfree dialing through the phone itself. Of course, this is my understanding of it.

    But yes, you are correct. I want to actually change the voice the PHONE uses and sends to the headset. Also want to add a confirmation before dialing the phone if this is possible.

    I didnt know some headsets stored contact info in them. I just have an older motorolla bluetooth which serves me fine.
     
Search tags for this page
blueant bluetooth voice altering
,

blueant q2 change voice

,
blueant s4 change the voice
,
blueant s4 change voice
,
blueant s4 change voices
,
can i change the voice on a blueant s4
,
change voice blueant
,
change voice blueant q2
,
change voice on blueant q2
,
how to change voice on blueant st3