Bloatware apps safe to remove on the Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by r314bd, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Do those apps get called even though they're frozen?
     
  2. me_droid

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    No, that seems to prevent them from running. Just can't figure out why they were running without my starting them.

    Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using DroidForums
     
  3. obogobo

    obogobo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may or may not be worth noting but if you want to use the HDMI out, Webtop and Webtop Connector must not be frozen.
     
  4. me_droid

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    For example just now CarDock was running. I haven't done anything that I know of to cause that.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  5. pintocat

    pintocat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this too.

    Took a long time, but I tracked it down to the Analytics Viewer. If it's frozen, the Cell Data toggle for Smart Actions doesn't work.
     
  6. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks! I will add this to the OP.
     
  7. Sparkimus

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sync Service is okay to freeze as well. It's only for Backup Assistant. I had it frozen in my D3 and now have it frozen on my D4 without issue.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
     
  8. svrnmnd

    svrnmnd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    right but if you un install (I use system app remover) there is an option in that to backup the files before you uninstall them or simply disable them (I assume it cant be that much different from freeze) also if there is an update you can just factory reset and grab the update..right?
     
  9. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    No. If you uninstall a system app, a factory reset will not restore the app. Some system apps will not reinstall correctly once they are uninstalled, either.

    I can't stress this enough - do not uninstall system apps! Just freeze them. Freezing will make the apps invisible in your launcher and they will no longer be using any memory so it's just as if they're uninstalled...except freezing is 100% reversible while uninstalling may not be.
     
  10. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I second this, from personal experience.

    The first thing I did after rooting was a full Titanium backup of all apps, just to be safe. I then went on a freezing spree, got distracted with my newborn, came back to freezing and accidentally uninstalled Home Tips 1.0 before realizing I was supposed to be freezing, not uninstalling.

    Because I want all the system apps installed for the (eventual) ICS update, I tried to restore Home Tips with my Titanium backup of it (that I had just done 20 minutes before) and it absolutely refused to restore, even after a reboot. It just hung on the "restoring" screen.

    Luckily a friend sent me the APK and I was able to restore it to the proper folder using Root Explorer. But if that one very basic system app wouldn't restore it makes me wonder what else at the system level won't restore. Personally, I'm freezing everything just to be safe.
     
  11. me_droid

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Agreed, there are some apps that tbu cannot restore. just went through this with a lenovo thinkpad tablet trying to do an ota. You will waste much time chasing down apks if you remove rather than freeze, and then it may still not work!

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  12. obogobo

    obogobo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else able to crash their homescreen by pressing a single physical key while the app drawer is open? I get a force close on com.motorola.home :/
     
  13. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    on my phone when i open the drawer and press a key, it tries to search. perhaps you froze something that shouldn't be frozen? note: i'm using go launcher ex, not the stock home.

    edit: installed home launcher, switched to the default home, opened my drawer, pressed a key, got force close. verified! i froze almost everything in the OP's list. the issue does not exist with go launcher ex though, so i'm probably not going to troubleshoot unless it starts happening there :)
     
  14. obogobo

    obogobo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm what is the default action for keypresses in the stock launcher? That might help me narrow it down. I regret to say however that I did uninstall a few apps before I learned about the wonder that is freezing
     
  15. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I just replicated this issue. I'm using Go Launcher so I don't run into this problem normally but if anyone figures out what frozen app is causing this let me know and I'll remove it from the list.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
Search tags for this page
apps safe to remove from droid 4
,
com.zecter.droid.services
,

droid 4 bloatware

,
droid 4 bloatware safe to remove
,
droid 4 how to remove apps not used
,
droid 4 remove bloatware
,
motorola droid 4 apps to disable
,
take apps off droid 4
,
what is zumoservice on droid razr
,

zumoservice