Bloatware and backup/restore

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Fenway72, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. Fenway72

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ifi remove the bloatware (amazon, blockbuster, etc...) And do a cw backup, will that hose my phone if I restore it at a later date? Or will I need to put out all back prior to the restore?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I would make a backup BEFORE removing bloatware.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. Fenway72

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I did. But are there any steps needed prior to the restore? Or will I be okay to just restore over the renamed apk bloats?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Because they are renamed they shouldn't get in the way. Besides you will wipe before restore anyways which will remove excess files.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. Fenway72

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    By wipe you mean factory restore? I ask because that is where I am confused. I have backed up my phone, then removed bloat, and made changes (added apps, changed settings.) Now I would like to make another backup. Is it okay to backup a phone that has had the bloat removed/renamed? If I wipe to factory prior to using my restore, will I need to put the bloat back before I do a factory reset?

    There are so many ways to brick that these things make me nervous.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

does bloatware come back after factory reset

,

how to backup before deleting bloatware droid x