bkapps.zip install, how?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by skyyaa, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. skyyaa
    Offline

    skyyaa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, read the directions pretty thoroughly and I see that there's an option to install the bkapps script before flashing SS for the first time in order to preserve apps, home screens, etc. But I can't for the life of me find the directions for doing that! I have the bkapps.zip downloaded...am I installing it like an update.zip? Or is there some other way?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. cwciwatch
    Offline

    cwciwatch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +0

    I am wondering the same thing
     
  3. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Download bkapps.zip, rename to update.zip, and copy to the root of your sdcard. Reboot into recovery, select Install, allow install, then install update. <- Not the exact wording but you'll see it. Once it's done, reboot, open a terminal program and type:
    su
    bkapps -c

    Give it time to finish....

    Now you can wipe and flash SS, then run rstapps -c to restore all of your apps.
     
  4. cwciwatch
    Offline

    cwciwatch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) thanks......DUH, I should have known that. Sorry!! Works perfect now!!
     
  5. Arte Suave
    Offline

    Arte Suave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant get ROM manager to install this. I cant get my phone to boot into recovery either. Wont do it from ROM manager, and I cant get it it to do it manually. Damn thing :)
     
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone please help me. I am running Kangerade 1.1. I downloaded bkapp.zip on phone. Renamed it to update.zip. Moved to /sdcard/. Restarted phone and booted into recovery. Selected the instal from update.zip option. Shows it installed correctly. Booted back up, went into terminal. Typed
    su
    /#bkapp -c
    And got the following error:SH:bkapp:not found

    I did delete the update file before running this command but didnt think i needed that after being installed.

    Also, first time booting into clockwork recovery. I know in SPrecovery you had to select the option allow install from zip then install. I didnt see that in clockwork. I simply selected install.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    This one is easy: it is bkapps
     
  8. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy yeah sry typo. I did do bkapps -c and it gives me the error bkapps: applet not found
     
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK - run this:

    ls -l `which bkapps`

    then:

    echo $PATH
     
  10. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok. After typing in ls -l it gave my a large directory.

    I then typed in echo $PATH and it shows: /data/local/bin:/sbin:/system/sbin:/system/bin:/system/xbin
     
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK, the PATH is the problem. I assume you are not running my kernel? If not, you will have to type in the full path:

    /system/xbin/chevyno1/bkapps
     
  12. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am currently running kangeraide.

    So in terminal it would be
    su
    "/system/xbin/chevyno1/bkapps -c" ?
     
  13. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking in /system/xbin/ with file explorer there is no chevyno1 folder. There is a bkapps file located in /system/xbin/ In terminal if i do

    su
    /syetm/xbin/bkapps -c i still get the APPLET NOT FOUND message.
     
  14. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK sorry I may have misled you - bkapps SHOULD be in /system/xbin if you flashed bkapps.zip - in which case, it SHOULD run in kangerade
     
  15. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also tried
    su
    cd /system/xbin/
    bkapps -c

    APPLET NOT FOUND.