1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

bkapps.zip install, how?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by skyyaa, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. skyyaa
    Offline

    skyyaa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all, read the directions pretty thoroughly and I see that there's an option to install the bkapps script before flashing SS for the first time in order to preserve apps, home screens, etc. But I can't for the life of me find the directions for doing that! I have the bkapps.zip downloaded...am I installing it like an update.zip? Or is there some other way?

    Thanks for the help.
  2. cwciwatch
    Offline

    cwciwatch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH

    I am wondering the same thing
  3. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Yes. Download bkapps.zip, rename to update.zip, and copy to the root of your sdcard. Reboot into recovery, select Install, allow install, then install update. <- Not the exact wording but you'll see it. Once it's done, reboot, open a terminal program and type:
    su
    bkapps -c

    Give it time to finish....

    Now you can wipe and flash SS, then run rstapps -c to restore all of your apps.
  4. cwciwatch
    Offline

    cwciwatch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    :) thanks......DUH, I should have known that. Sorry!! Works perfect now!!
  5. Arte Suave
    Offline

    Arte Suave New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cant get ROM manager to install this. I cant get my phone to boot into recovery either. Wont do it from ROM manager, and I cant get it it to do it manually. Damn thing :)
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please help me. I am running Kangerade 1.1. I downloaded bkapp.zip on phone. Renamed it to update.zip. Moved to /sdcard/. Restarted phone and booted into recovery. Selected the instal from update.zip option. Shows it installed correctly. Booted back up, went into terminal. Typed
    su
    /#bkapp -c
    And got the following error:SH:bkapp:not found

    I did delete the update file before running this command but didnt think i needed that after being installed.

    Also, first time booting into clockwork recovery. I know in SPrecovery you had to select the option allow install from zip then install. I didnt see that in clockwork. I simply selected install.

    Any help is appreciated.
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This one is easy: it is bkapps
  8. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chevy yeah sry typo. I did do bkapps -c and it gives me the error bkapps: applet not found
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK - run this:

    ls -l `which bkapps`

    then:

    echo $PATH
  10. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok. After typing in ls -l it gave my a large directory.

    I then typed in echo $PATH and it shows: /data/local/bin:/sbin:/system/sbin:/system/bin:/system/xbin
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, the PATH is the problem. I assume you are not running my kernel? If not, you will have to type in the full path:

    /system/xbin/chevyno1/bkapps
  12. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently running kangeraide.

    So in terminal it would be
    su
    "/system/xbin/chevyno1/bkapps -c" ?
  13. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking in /system/xbin/ with file explorer there is no chevyno1 folder. There is a bkapps file located in /system/xbin/ In terminal if i do

    su
    /syetm/xbin/bkapps -c i still get the APPLET NOT FOUND message.
  14. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK sorry I may have misled you - bkapps SHOULD be in /system/xbin if you flashed bkapps.zip - in which case, it SHOULD run in kangerade
  15. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also tried
    su
    cd /system/xbin/
    bkapps -c

    APPLET NOT FOUND.
  16. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The bkapps file is indeed in /system/xbin/ But still getting the APPLET NOT FOUND error.
  17. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Y'know, I was having an almost identical problem with the Maps fix for FroYo, it didn't matter what set of commands I ran, they all gave me the same error you're getting. That was when I was using the "stock" FroYo RC2 ROM... I eventually gave up and just installed Kangerade :)
    Although, now that I think about it, there's the update.zip... Some of them are made specifically for SP Recovery, some for ClockworkMod. It's possible that the update.zip that you applied is one that needed to be done with SPR, which would explain why the file exists but doesn't work.
    You may need to find a ClockWork version of it, or use ROM Manager to switch back to SP Recovery, apply the update.zip, and then switch back to Clockwork to flash Simply Stunning after it finishes. Then, yous shouldn't have an issue afterwords.
    Should being the key word... :)
  18. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Taegost, awesome!!!!! I may just give this a shot when I get home from work here in about an HR.

    Im sure Chevyno1 may have something to add to this?
  19. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welp i re flashed sprecovery. Reinstalled update.zip within recovery. Tried in terminal and still get applet not found.

    Any ideas?
  20. daveywave
    Offline

    daveywave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where could i find the bkapps.zip everyone mentions you can download 'somewhere'? :(

    I wanted to test the new build of SS coming from a fresh install of cyanogen 6 rc3... (cyanogen doesn't include this or many scripts)