Bionic Lapdock now $50 at Verizon

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by CurGeorge8, May 30, 2012.

  1. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal

    Good to know. The first one I called told me it was the original price. The next place told me it was now $49.97 because the Bionic was now "free." That means I could've gone to the first place, but the next one was not that far way .

    I wondered about them shipping as you could go to the store locator and just enter another ZIP Code. Keep calling until you find one and have them ship it.
  2. z96Cobra
    Offline

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For those having issues with the "No HDMI" error message, it must be the ROM you are using. I'm rooted on .902 and running Liberty ROM. I haven't had any issues with my lapdock running. Also, I haven't seen any low memory messages yet and I've had 5-6 tabs running in Firefox, multiple times. My App Storage has 2.4GB free and my Media/Internal Storage is at 2.2GB free. I'm also running a 64GB SanDisk microSD but not sure if that helps (I don't believe so). Really liking this thing so far, and my Galaxy Tab isn't getting much use now!
  3. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Stopped by the local Verizon store Friday to check out the lapdock, ready to make a purchase, however when looking at it I thought "cute, but what do I gain over using my Macbook Pro. Currently tethered with PDAnet, and have used Foxfi, and for the life of me I couldn't find a reason to pick one up other than it's something different.

    Oh well, that's $50 saved toward the Vanquish :cool-b:.
  4. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I think the difference for many is that it is more convenient than using their laptop or PC. I know for me, between my phone and tablet, I rarely ever use my PC or my laptop and rarely need to. Where my laptop use to go everywhere I went, it never does anymore. My tablet with the USB keyboard does instead. I think the lapdock serves that purpose. I think if I had a lapdock, I probably would not be using my tablet anymore...or my PC or my laptop.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  5. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Either way, something extra needs to be carried. Guess it all comes down to what you want to bring along.
  6. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Don't own a laptop or tablet. Haven't had a need yet, but I don't anticipate carrying this around either.

    Let us know (in general) where you live. Someone else will probably want the one you didn't pick up.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  7. lykofos
    Offline

    lykofos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm really enjoying the lapdock so far. Typing this from a hotel lobby in fact (on 4G which is faster than the hotel's wifi)! Only been using the lapdock for 2 days, but can definitely see the niche that it fills. And at $50, it's a steal.

    It's much lighter and more compact than my laptop and I can see myself reaching for the lapdock to throw in my briefcase on a daily basis / during flights instead of my laptop.

    I've experienced none of the complaints some people have mentioned so far. My space bar key works no matter where I press on it and no low memory warnings either (I've had 8 tabs open in firefox at once). Loving the lapdock.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  8. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Playing on my new lapdock right now.
    It'll take time to get used to the feel of the keyboard but it's cool!!!
  9. qweesy
    Offline

    qweesy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    picked up one yesterday in the conroe store TX they still had one left after I got minedancedroid 50$ its a steal
  10. fisch2481
    Offline

    fisch2481 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    First off,

    Thanks OP. Since I picked this up the day of your posting I was able to mod the webtop to allow me to partition my SD card to allow 6 gigs of memory. I also installed Ubuntu's XFCE desktop environment with the ability to install custom applications. This is like having an extra laptop for when i'm on the fly! oh boy the fun begins!


    View attachment 50727
  11. urphonesux
    Offline

    urphonesux New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    travelling...........
    in unison now!
    well duh
  12. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Instructions, please?!
  13. qweesy
    Offline

    qweesy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    +1:)
  14. urphonesux
    Offline

    urphonesux New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    travelling...........
    +2 :hail:
  15. unboostedzc
    Offline

    unboostedzc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +3. definitely looking to do this. flashed back to GB to use the dock and wanting to get this thing up and running right.
  16. z96Cobra
    Offline

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
  17. fisch2481
    Offline

    fisch2481 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I'll post some links and give some instructions when I get to work. It is definitely w:hail:eek:rthwhile.
  18. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please do. I've read through a lot of posts from people who have installed this on other moto phones, but never on the Bionic. And while I like "modifying" things, I'm too busy for something not to work.

    But this would definitely be useful.
  19. unboostedzc
    Offline

    unboostedzc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i've seen a few different sets of instructions but can't find anything recent or bionic specific as well.
  20. urphonesux
    Offline

    urphonesux New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    travelling...........
    I fail on every attempt
    I wish there was a clearer more updated tutorial on how to install this

    *might have figured out the webtop2sd issue without flashing back to stock.
    BUT it is synchronizing now

    I was getting the extracting assets error and the cant synchronize to target partition error.
    So I uninstalled webtop2sd
    that erased the webtop2sd folder i had made in system/etc so i made another and copied the busybox file to it

    files are currently synchronizing from mmcblk1p24 to mmcblk0p2


    OKAY i now have 2 currently mounted webtops in my diagnostics tab. NEVER had that before
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
Search tags for this page

bionic lapdock

,
buy the droid bionic lapdock for $50.00
,
driod bionic
,
droid bionic clearance
,

droid bionic lapdock

,
droid bionic lapdock charger plug
,
droid bionic lapdock price
,
htc thunderbolt lapdock
,
motorola bionic lapdock
,
motorola lapdock bionic
,
verizon droid bionic lapdock
,
verizon lapdock