Bionic dropping data, even with plenty of signal

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by brandonsmash, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm really getting frustrated at this. I've had my Bionic since launch and it's been a great device, but lately it's developed this quirk where it just likes to drop the data connection for no reason. No, this isn't because I'm resuming from a battery saver or anything; it happens while I'm using the phone actively just as often as not.

    These screenshots were all taken today during periods of interruption. It's worth noting that:
    A) I live in a 4G LTE area (Phoenix metro), but for some reason LTE cuts in and out at my house though there is always 3G, BUT
    B) These were during times of use in one nonmobile position (which varied throughout the house), and
    C) there was still signal, and
    D) the Bionic, despite having signal, just decided to drop data


    View attachment 41776 View attachment 41777 View attachment 41778 View attachment 41779 View attachment 41780


    This has been worst today but has happened before. Any suggestions? I may have to stop by the VZW store anyway tomorrow (my Bionic also picked up an annoying buzzing during phone calls) but I'd like to see if anyone else has thoughts.

    I'm fairly upset about this. I waited a long time for the Bionic and sunk a good chunk of change into it on launch day. I have treated it very carefully: it has never been dropped or wet, for instance. I'd hate for this to just be something I have to deal with for the next two years.

    Also, I've tried rebooting the phone, installing a fresh battery, turning airplane mode on and off, etc. Nothing has fixed the problem.

    Thanks for your help, folks.
  2. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I read somewhere that removing/reinstalling the SIM card may correct the problem, since the SIM is linked to the LTE/3G radios.
    I just performed that procedure and rebooted the phone.

    I have signal but zero data. It's not because it hasn't initialized: It has been several minutes and I still have signal and no data.
    ...And somehow now ScreenGrabber is reporting a read-only filesystem failure.

    Something's f*cked.

    Awesome.


    EDIT: Pulled/installed the SIM card twice more and data is back, but with precisely the same problems as before (VZW tech support knows nothing of the issue). ScreenGrabber is back after uninstall/reinstall, though it's unclear why removing the SIM card would cause this to happen.
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  3. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Took the phone to VZW today. Replacement is coming tomorrow for this and other warranty issues.
  4. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apparently there is an update coming in November to fix this issue, it is frustrating...
  5. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    New phone, same problem. AWESOME.
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I have the most recent leaked ota and it does fix these issues - at least on my phone.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  7. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I just spoke to a Verizon rep and he said that the OTA "may" fix the problem. I'd really rather not do the Cheesecake thing if possible, as I'm a wee bit worried about bricking the device and also possibly being pushed out of the future update path.
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I wasn't really suggesting that as a solution - rather as a "light at the end of tunnel" kind of thing. There is a solution coming soon.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  9. SteadySlackin
    Offline

    SteadySlackin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the data drop worse then most, it actually ended up consuming more battery probably due to the fact it was constantly searching for a data connection? Yesterday I had a vzw store install a new sim card. Now it only has issues after a reboot, and when it drops data, a quick on/off toggle on my data widget usually resolves it.
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I was literally just about to type how finally mine has been acting normal and holding a good, consistent 3G signal while on "CDMA Only", and lo and behold, it's gone... lol. I'm in my office so I'm just testing to see how long this takes... so far I've toggled airplane mode and that's it.

    The irony of this, for me anyway, is that my wife and I were with Virgin Mobile for awhile. Both the Android phones we had with them would occasionally do this, and typically the airplane toggle fixed it. Difference is, we were paying $50 for the both of us, rather than $140+ now... :) (though her Inc2 that's only 3G works perfectly... so it's clearly a LTE thing)
  11. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    It actually seems like the problem is getting worse. It's now happening 20-30 times per day on a BRAND-NEW phone!
  12. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    This is still a problem.

    The OTA update was promised by Verizon folks in early November. That came and went and when I called to complain, they said mid-November. That came and went, and now they're saying "maybe late November."

    I'm on my THIRD Bionic and still getting data drops and the same problems. This phone was not well-vetted before release despite having been delayed for eight months!

    This is ridiculous.