1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Big Problem Installing 2.1, I know I'm not the only one.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hatboysam, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A while back I rooted my droid to install the European browser so I could get multitouch. Now when I go to install 2.1, the system check fails because of the different Browser.apk. Is there any way to undo this hack and get the old browser back so I can upgrade?

    I'm sure I'm not the only one who installed the multitouch browser early.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. itwerk
    Offline

    itwerk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you already unroot your phone before you tried to update to 2.1?
  3. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I didn't. Can I do this without wiping my phone?
  4. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure whether it will wipe or not, but you MUST unroot to install the official 2.1
  5. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't unroot, trying to install the 2.0.1 update file that would unroot results in the same error as trying to install 2.1
  6. itwerk
    Offline

    itwerk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try the dmupdater method to unroot.
  7. DatDudePug
    Offline

    DatDudePug New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how to unroot
  8. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Let me try to assure you that DMupdater is probably the quickest and easiest way to go back to stock. I've done it 3 times. You may have to do a factory reset afterwards to get your voice capabilities back but that doesn't always happen and a soft reset does not lose your apps.

    Whatever you decide, good luck.
  10. jbrock98
    Offline

    jbrock98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is rooting? Is it another way to say hacking? And is it something I should look into? I've got the 2.0.1version and I wanna update, where and how u guys getting the new update?
  11. booknavel
    Offline

    booknavel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2.1 update error, not rooted

    My phone used to be rooted, but hasn't been for weeks. I installed the 2.1 update. It didn't give me error after installing. However, I obviously don't have 5 home screens and my gallery says is NOT installed. The firmware says it is 2.1. How do I fix this???? I know VZ will just tell to wipe the phone and start over.
  12. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok here is what I need.

    Can someone who has a stock 2.0.1 or 2.0 Droid send me the Browser.odex, Browser.apk, and libmtwebcore.so files. The locations can be found in the instructions to install the multitouch browser that I posted earlier. This would be GREATLY appreciated and should not be too hard.
  13. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no reason to do a factory reset if all you are missing is your voice capabilities when going back to 2.0.1 stock. Simply go to applications and uninstall google voice input, then restart your phone and all is back to normal.
  14. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would be much easier to flash a stock 2.0.1 update.zip from Sprecovery. Takes 3 minutes and you are back to normal stock. If you need the stock update.zip and don't know where it is, I can point you to it and help if you need it.
  15. jimnutt
    Offline

    jimnutt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Or better yet, go to the droid hacks section and find a copy of the rooted 2.1 and install it. You'll keep root and have all the new stuff in 2.1
  16. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flashing back to 2.0.1 does not work for the same reason I can't upgrade to 2.1. Where can I get this rooted 2.1 update zip? I would like to try that. Also does this update follow the same procedure as manually applying the true 2.1 update?
  17. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do you think reloading a fresh copy of the software would not work?

    Do you need any help?

    If not, carry on... :)
  18. hatboysam
    Offline

    hatboysam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried every method that does not wipe my phone and they all require the original browser apk. If someone could just send me those files I know how to fix my problems.
  19. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOU DO have to wipe your phone. Good grief man.... fix your problem and carry on.
  20. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From Sprecovery run a stock update.zip and wipe data and cache.

    If you don't want to take the 3 minutes to do this you can search for files for years if you like.