Better browser for droid?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Pikapi, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I've heard about Dolphin, but isn't there also an Opera browser? And apparently there are a lot of ads on Dolphin - is that ever a bother? Basically: worth changing from the default browser, and if so, to which one?

    Thanks :D
     
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ads? What Ads?
     
  3. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    *shrug* The reviews of it mentioned ads.
    Also, while you/whoever is in here, why is it that whenever I try and watch a video on the preloaded youtube app, it won't let me?!
     
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Some like the dolphin, I used it before I went to 2.1 Stock in 2.1 rocks pretty solid IMHO...

    As too youtube...What's it doing exactly?
     
  5. vzwmandroid
    Offline

    vzwmandroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Homestead, FL 33030
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've bin using the stock browser since 11/6 and I think that there's no need for any other browser unless you miss your iPhone
     
  6. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dolphin browser had an add at the bottom of it's "start page". It's never bothered me though.
     
  7. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0

    Every time I try and play a video, it says "sorry, this video cannot be played." Every. time. :(
     
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6

    Are you on 3G, 1x or wifi?
     
  9. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know, thanks :)
     
  10. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    3g! I have verizon. o_O
     
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Just because your on Big Red does not mean your on 3G...What happens when you play a youtube video from your browser??
     
  12. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, er, it says "3G" in the upper corner, so I sort of assume it's not lying
     
  13. Pikapi
    Offline

    Pikapi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    around
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh hurrah, it works in browser. I geuss I just don't get why the damn preloaded thing wouldn't work
     
  14. jrocketdroid
    Offline

    jrocketdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too used the stock browser from day one. It's a good browser.
    however, the last version of Dolphin has been quite stable for me, and I am now using it exclusively to surf the web. I like it for the multitouch functionality it provides. I only have seen the one ad that shows up on the "start screen" but i don't go to that screen as often.
     
  15. Benjamin Crist
    Offline

    Benjamin Crist Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've found dolphin has two things I like:

    1) Google Bookmark Sync

    2) Tabs

    Does 2.1 stock have these features?
     
Search tags for this page

android dolphin double click