1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

BEST Launcher2.apk

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by natediddy1120, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Not sure if anyone posted this already, and if they did feel free to delete this thread.

    But I see people asking about what is the best Launcher2 and if there even is one. Well, there IS one....just tested myself and it runs flawlessly...

    7 screens
    Landscape is **almost** perfect

    Check it out for yourself guys
  2. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Beta Team

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Jeeze louise you're "it" link is so miniscule I was scratching my head as to why you didn't link it haha. Yeah that's the one tried out but it still made my phone reboot :( Did feel really smooth when it was working though lol
  3. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Next thing is that this launcher doesn't have the app buttons on it.
  4. CrappyAlloy
    Offline

    CrappyAlloy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does this launcher need to be installed using ADB shell or will it also work with just installing the apk like some of the other launchers? I checked the link and wasnt sure if I could also just use SUFBS on my phone
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I haven't had any problems with it so far :p

    Like, it literally is working *perfect*, no lie.

    And bowers, what "app buttons"?
  6. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    The phone and browser buttons of course
  7. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    The link to the post on xda had instructions on it? I just downoaded the apk and adb pushed the file over...which I had a Launcher2 already there, so I had to adb pull and rename...it's all in the OP I linked too man

    There is another option for the 0.3 version...I am assuming it is just an update.zip. You could try that
  8. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Ohh...I kinda like it like it is...it's supposed to be geared more for an HTC or iPhone type deal...but I don't really see how honestly. But that's what the OP says in the link
  9. CrappyAlloy
    Offline

    CrappyAlloy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well im using DroidMod right now and im not sure what I should go about doing if I do not like, or this doesnt work correctly, how to revert to my previous home screen. would the update.zip simply rename or overwrite my current home screen "app"
  10. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    There is a .3 version that is .apk format just above the update.zip one. Now I am going to have to try this thanks to Nate. lol
  11. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Also Nate what ROM are you currently on?
  12. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Haha, it's definitely the best functioning Launcher2 that I've seen yet.

    It's an apk, but you will have to push with adb.

    And also, this apk will do NOTHING to your regular standard Launcher with the drawer
  13. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I'm on koush's cyanogenmod rom
  14. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Do you have to be rooted?
  15. CrappyAlloy
    Offline

    CrappyAlloy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dam if I could have read that just a few moments ago...I installed without ADB, crashed my phone
  16. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yes you do need to be rooted I believe. Because you can't just install this apk like a normal apk. Or at least I don't believe you can....
  17. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Ha! Guess I was right lol
  18. CrappyAlloy
    Offline

    CrappyAlloy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya lol if you rename it to .apk (like im assuming you have to do to push it anyways) and just put it on the phone, click install, all that happens is the screen starts to flash and the phone reboots :p but im about to try the adb method right now
  19. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I installed through Astro and then I got FC if I select Launcher. I am on UD 6.5, so it may work better on your rom. By the way nate what is the best link or thread for installing that rom and recovery?
  20. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    There is an app in the Market :p

    Search "ROM Manager"
Search tags for this page
best apk site
,
brlauncher2.apk
,
cyanogenmod launcher2
,
cyanogenmod launcher2 apk
,

launcher2 apk

,

launcher2.apk

,
launcher2.apk application is not installed on your phone