bekit Kernel compatible with CM6.1.2?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by ti-force, Apr 5, 2011.

1. ti-force

ti-force New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to all of this and I have some questions. I recently rooted my Droid, installed CM6.1.2 and I'm thrilled with the results and now I'm interested in overclocking :). I have Rom Manager Premium, and looking under 'Download ROM': 'CyanogenMod', I only see bekit Kernels (0.8.4). Is this compatible with CM 6.1.2? I've searched and searched on here and elsewhere to find info on this, but I've been unsuccessful. If there's already a thread about this I apologize, and if you could please supply me a direct link I don't mind reading. I'm also planning to purchase SetCPU, but I wanted to check here first.

Thanks!
  2. mightybrick

mightybrick New Member

I don't believe bekit ever updated his kernels for froyo. They only work on eclair (2.1 based) builds. For froyo you can check out slayher kernels which are under "liquid froyo" in rom manager. They should work fine with 6.1.2.
  3. ti-force

ti-force New Member

Thanks! That info is greatly appreciated :).
  4. mightybrick

mightybrick New Member

No problem.
  5. sbenson

sbenson New Member

Before you purchase setCPU, check out CPU tuner (it's FREE). Nothing against setCPU, but CPU tuner gives you a lot more options with how to manage your kernel. I used to use setCPU, but have since moved on to CPU tuner and have not looked back.

Also, CPU tuner is a bit daunting at first, but once you dig into the settings it's really quite simple.
  6. ti-force

ti-force New Member

Thanks! I'll try that.
  7. zerosouls

zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

FYI - CM7 offers it's own CPU scaling and customization. The only thing I would use SetCPU for would be for the profiles, but otherwise CM7 handles kernels greatly.

But that is only if you are willing to move over to CM7 RC4.

Just a side thought :)
  8. ti-force

ti-force New Member