BB made an Oops

Discussion in 'Motorola Xoom' started by mhochman, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. mhochman

    mhochman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered my WiFi only Xoom first thing this morning from BestBuy, selected in store pickup, Drove the 50 miles to my nearest BB (I live on an Island off the coast of Maine) Get there, give them my order info, they hand me a Xoom box in a Bestbuy Bag. I get in the car and drive home, I open the bag and notice that the box sure has a Big Xoom on it, but also has Verizon logo's all over it, I open the box, and sure enough, they have given me a Verizon branded 3g Xoom instead of the WiFi only...

    Any reason (other than possible moral ones) that i should return it and get the WiFi only? is it newer hardware? am I never going to be able to get the 3G working on the one i have anyway. Not sure what I should do with it...
     
  2. Chizzele

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I would say, go ahead and enjoy it... you weren't planning on using 3g anyway but at least you have the option ;-)

    Sourcery powerd Droid
     
  3. EgooEspada

    EgooEspada Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, check your receipt and see if they charged you for a WiFi model or a 3G model. If they charged you for a WiFi model, I say keep what you have. Saves you $200.

    But really, theres no difference between the two as far as I know besides the radios.
     
  4. Digital Cha0s

    Digital Cha0s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Keep it best buys fault and yes you should be able to activate it with out much issue thru *611 I could only hope to have a zoom fall in my lap but won't happen like that for me

    Sent from one of my Superior Android Devices
     
  5. mhochman

    mhochman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had been hoping to use my iPhone 4 to tether, but i didn't know you couldnt connect the Xoom to an Ad Hoc network..

    Think i'd have any trouble activating the 3G on this one if i decided to? i mean i could just tell them i bought it off Ebay...
     
  6. mhochman

    mhochman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well, i'm glad to have a little good fall into my lap, it's been a rough month as we totaled our car 3 weeks ago and have been going back and forth with the INsurance company trying to get a settlement to buy a new one... So i'm going to take this Xoom 3G falling into my lap as a sign that things are looking up!

    (FYI, i was talking to a few people on another forum and have heard of at least one other person accidentally getting the 3G instead of the WiFi, so maybe the BestBuy employees didnt even know about the new model)
     
  7. mhochman

    mhochman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The receipt simply says "Android DU $599"

    the pickup slip that was taped to it says "Model # Android DU" "Description Motorola-Xoom Tablet WiFi-Dark Titanium-MOTMZ604"

    but the one i got is for sure a Verizon branded model
     
  8. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,032
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +16
    wow that is awesome IF they don't notice one missing later hahaha. but hey enjoy it and when u need to turn on that 3G at least u wont be on contract....I think

    Aloha from Hawaii...
     
  9. Cardini

    Cardini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was able to tether to my Wife's Iphone 4 just fine.
     
  10. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,057
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +769
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I don't think he'd be able to get a 3g signal as it requires activation, at least from what I've heard.

    Either way, congrats on the new Xoom and even luckier getting a 3g model. Other than the 3g they're the same, but think of it as pocketing an extra $200, lol.
     
  11. mhochman

    mhochman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was it a Jailbroken iPhone? or did you purchase the teather from AT&T/VZW?