BB able to stop app adds?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by djstinso, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. djstinso

    djstinso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats up everyone! In the last 2 days I have used SPRecovery to root, and then flashed BB v.5. YES I am in the darkside now!. I was chatting with someone in person that told me it was possible to stop internet app ads in the BB scripts. Couldn't find anything in here about it so I was curious what your thoughts were..
     
  2. dbst

    dbst Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    There should be a script in the BB Toolkit to turn them off
     
  3. bthomp21

    bthomp21 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I looked but just for a second, I'd like to know this too. Thanks.
     
  4. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    when you open script helper the very top script is for blocking ads or you could open terminal

    type
    su
    ads -b
    finished



    works of a hostfile in xbin just like most pc's


    like this
    # Bugless Beast AdBlocker
    #
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 000-search.net
    127.0.0.1 000dom.revenuedirect.com
    127.0.0.1 005.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 006.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 007.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 008.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 008.free-counters.co.uk
     
  5. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    you can also use adfree android off the market. Its free. They update their files every now and then.

    thats what I use. works.
     
  6. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2

    you dont need an extra ap slowing your phone down when pete added the script
     
  7. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    amen to that!!! run the script
     
  8. Raven1r44

    Raven1r44 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    So-Cal!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    you ought not to need to even run the script, .5 should automatically block all add for you....
     
  9. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thats true, but Pandora still tries to show ads
     
  10. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    in all the time i been running bb it never automatically blocked ads i always had to run the script.




    after running the script i dont get any ads not even pandora or another ap rock video is notorious for ads and the script blocks them. maybe you need to make sure. in your xbin that your hostblock file is upto date
     
  11. michael_campbell

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Ratings:
    +0

    Does pete's script update periodically with new entries or is it a static list?

    This "extra app" does a download of a fairly regularly updated file, then exits. It won't "slow the phone down".
     
  12. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    since apparently i sparked your intrest any one with a text editor can update a file adding blocks. the script itself dont need updates only the host file but with your background with linux you should know this.
    it is located in xbin called hostblock and all entrys look like this
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 000-search.net
    127.0.0.1 000dom.revenuedirect.com
    127.0.0.1 005.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 006.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 007.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 008.free-counter.co.uk
    127.0.0.1 008.free-counters.co.uk
     
Search tags for this page

ad blocker for blackberry

,
adblocker for blackberry
,

blackberry ad blocker

,

block ads blackberry

,

how to block ads on blackberry

,

how to remove ads on blackberry

,
how to stop ads in blackberry
,

how to stop ads on blackberry

,

pandora hack blackberry

,

remove ads blackberry