1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

BB 7.7 is out

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Executioner, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Executioner
    Offline

    Executioner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Link - Click Here

    Might be time to make the switch to BB...

    Sholes was great, but the recent turmoil has left me feeling uneasy. While the Sholes team regroups (I'm sure they'll release something great again), BB has seemed to jump ahead in the 2 headed ROM race...
  2. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Beat me to it, it just finally is downloadable as of like a minute ago.
  3. allen2oo3
    Offline

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks

    10 char
  4. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    hmm ive been happy with 7.5 but i may have to make the switch now :D

  5. jstafford1
    Online

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Can't dl....grrrrr only says its 851k?? I know that's too small.
  6. allen2oo3
    Offline

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone else find it to be a little buggy? (never had any issues with any other BB releases)

    first time i got to lock screen phone rebooted itself after i entered my pattern
    screen mode widget had to be removed and put back 3 times before it finally worked
    water live wallpaper is unresponsive to touch
  7. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    just downloaded the file, 76mb. havent installed it yet though
  8. Executioner
    Offline

    Executioner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    If coming from Sholes 2.05... would you recomend the update.zip path or the nandroid path?
  9. allen2oo3
    Offline

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    everyone seems to have a different preference. i for one have always used update.zip
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Server is being hammered right now. Download is slow too.
  11. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    The only time I used the Nandroid method was when I tried Pete's 2.1. I've done about 10-12 update.zip installs with now problems. But for everyone that does it like I do, there's 2 or 3 that do the Nandroid method (or so it looks from reading the boards).

    Good luck.
  12. twmac
    Offline

    twmac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dumb question (i think)

    When making an advanced nandroid backup, which options do you want to choose to preserve your current state? Its probably a good guess to choose all items.. but are all items necessary? I dont want a lot of bloat building up on my SD card or phone from flashing various ROMs

    Edit:

    I guess I can just delete all my backups then make a new fresh backup from a state I am happy with. I already have the virgin oem on my SD card waiting for that moment when all hell has broken loose.
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    It is faster than 7.6, but not by much. Setcpu benchmarks done one right after the other yields all in the 160's and 150's. Once in a while there will something one in the 170-200 range. Judging strictly by Benchmark it is faster. Real world? Don't know.

    I've only run through a few basic programs so far and it seems as stable as 7.4,5, &6.

    I have not played with live wallpapers as that is a feature that means nothing to me. In fact I have all animations turned off and have done so for this entire week. I love the feel of extra snappiness with it turned off. don't think I'm willing to give that up for a little light show. YMMV tho. :)
  14. vinnard
    Offline

    vinnard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Downloading now, thanks :)
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Absolutely no anomalies yet. I've had it running since right after it became available. Seems smooth and fast. :)

    Damn cpu temp is still not available. :mad:

    Something like that happened to me with either 7.5 or 7.6 on my first install. I just went and downloaded the file again and did another update.zip and all was well. You might want to try that.
  16. allen2oo3
    Offline

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    much more fluid without animated wallpapers running. everything seems to be good again. almost 20mb extra free ram w/out live wallpapers
  17. vinnard
    Offline

    vinnard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone get live wallpapers working with home++?
  18. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    yeah nandroid seems too small.

    are the live wallapapers "touchable" meaning they move when you touch or they just move?
  19. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    according to the comments at alldroid, yes they are
  20. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I think I read that if you use Launcher they are interactive. If you use Home, they are animated but not interactive.