Bb .4 slow market

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by owuaarontsi, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. owuaarontsi

    owuaarontsi New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else's market super slow?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, mine was super slow - both on BB 0.4 and on the virgin/clean release. I tried everything to fix it, but couldn't. I went back to 1.1 for now (the slow market and the sirius/xm app not working were the main reasons).
     
  3. avt123

    avt123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The market is loading fine for me. Sometimes it is really slow, but if I exit the app and reload it usually loads faster. This barely happens though.
     
  4. buckeye_1

    buckeye_1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Williamsburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had the same problem withe several different ROMS. Tried everything to fix with no luck. Someone suggested switching kernals. I tried kernals from 3 different Devs with no change. Later, after trying a few other things, I switched to Chevy's kernals and the problem was solved. I went back to some of the other ROMS I had the problem with and the Chevy kernals fixed it in all the ROMS I tried.
     
  5. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is very interesting info. I don't currently have 0.4 installed, but when I try it again, I'm going to give one of Chevy's kernels a shot.
     
  6. avt123

    avt123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevys kernels don't work for me besides medium voltage. All others give me a boot loop.
     
  7. Yianaki

    Yianaki New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you first get the phone with older versions it would try and re download all your apps. Doesn't with .4 by default. But, even after that first couple of hours it was slow with v .3 and down. Everything including marketplace works perfectly for me with v.4.

    I do delete the data from the marketplace app whenever I update though with froyo, just a habbit. Don't know if that is why this version works properly or not.

    BB v.4 of Froyo is excellent.
     
  8. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The auto-download worked fine for me in 0.4. If it didn't happen for you, maybe you had the option disabled before installing 0.4?

    And the slow market has nothing to do with the auto downloads. For those of us who this affects, the problem persists way after the auto downloads complete (e.g., days later).
     
  9. owuaarontsi

    owuaarontsi New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies. I have chevys 1.1ghz at the time of posting this topic. So its not that unfortunately. Strange thing is though, yesterday I rooted and installed bb .4 on a coworkers droid and his market is fine. I didn't add any additional kernals to his either. Just petes default on .4.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The issue seems to only affect some users, which is very strange, so it doesn't surprise me that it's working on your coworkers. I wish I knew why this was, though.
     
  11. floyd

    floyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Google / Motorola is definitely checking out the phone profiles that check into the market. If you're running a droid on froyo, be assured that that will raise some digital eyebrows. That's my take on the slow market on occasion. Google just showed they can and will remotely delete "problem" apps from your Android phone.

    Ain't nothing secret nowhere no more on the intertubes.

    But the more folks that are rooted with custom ROMs make it that much more impossible to punish geeky customers. Root away! But do your frigging homework. And don't game the system with ridiculous tethering/streaming network demands.
     
  12. owuaarontsi

    owuaarontsi New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But android is open source so they shouldn't have a problem with modded phones.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. floyd

    floyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, you're right. That is a truly brilliant analysis. Well spoken. Whatever.
     
  14. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uuuuuugghhh. This issue is so annoying. I have this issue with every single Froyo rom I try. I wish there were some answers as to how to fix this.
     
  15. owuaarontsi

    owuaarontsi New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just switched to simply stunning 4.4 today and no longer have this problem. Kernal ULV1.1ghz. Everything else runs great too.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk