1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Battery Pull App?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by efexay, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. efexay
    Offline

    efexay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use to have an app that did this with 1 tap of the widget. Can't remeber the name but it was a little red power button as a widget.

    I just don't want to take my case apart every time, ya know?

    dancedroid
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to do it often enough to require a widget? Something's wrong....
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    No, I don't know. Why do you need to do a battery pull? It's not necessary with a Droid.

    The only time you should pull your battery on a regular basis is if you're like me and you are putting a freshly charged battery in. Other then that it's extremely rare that the Droid needs a battery pull or that it will even be effective.

    I think if you are having some issue that's causing you to do this then you probably are running some app that's giving you an issue. The battery pull isn't what's fixing it for you, more then likely it's a reset of the phone.
  4. efexay
    Offline

    efexay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Completely agree. I had that widget during the early Droid I times. Was a lot of rebooting trying different stuff. Now on R2Droid, I don't reboot at all but for instance, this app I installed, recommended I reboot to clear my DNS cache. I don't feel like taking my case off. It's on their good and a pain to get off/on
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2010
  5. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If all you want to do is reboot, press and hold the power button, it'll give you the option to turn off. Then just power it back on. No need to pull the battery.
  6. PickYourKing
    Offline

    PickYourKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are loading a ROM on a rooted droid and get a bootloop, your only option would be pulling the battery so you can boot into recovery to fix the problem. Unless you want your boot screen to loop until the battery dies. So yes, there are reasons for a battery pull.
  7. efexay
    Offline

    efexay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    man, I can't believe you guys have never seen this. I think it was part of some battery management app or maybe part of SetCPU? is there a battery skin that shows % numbers instead of green, orange, red? it might be another option in that app.
  8. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    There is no way an app can reproduce a battery pull. That is a mechanical separation of power to the device. Unless it also install hydraulics in the battery compartment. Now that could be cool...