Battery Life Testing/Observations (Rooted Only)

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by Darkseider, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. 96accord

    96accord Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you pay for the full version of WSOP?
     
  2. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    yep indeed
     
  3. drpaul07

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have dalvik cache in both /cache and /data. All the files inside /cache start with 'system' and all the files inside /data start with 'data'. I'm running CM6. Isn't that how everyone else's shows it? Would I clear both of them?
     
  4. grinchy

    grinchy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    running ud8 and I cleared both as well with no issues :)
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,083
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Just use CK's second set of terminal instructions. Works great. :)
     
  6. drpaul07

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see one to clear both..just one or the other. So I guess to clear both, you just add the two commands together before rebooting like this?

    $su
    #cd /cache/dalvik-cache
    #rm *
    #cd /data/dalvik-cache
    #rm *
    #reboot
     
  7. 96accord

    96accord Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I recently installed CM6 onto my Droid and followed the instructions in this thread and I received the following:

    Total Time: 11hr 8mins
    Battery Life Remained: 40%

    Definitely WAY better than what I was getting with the Bugless Beast V0.4 ROM and not doing the tip in this thread!

    -Jeff
     
  8. ufearme3

    ufearme3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Grinchy, or anyone else, I'm running UD 8.0 as well... I don't see any folders/files with "Dalvik" (searched using astro at the root of the phone)... how did you clear your dalvik cache in UD 8.0? Both my \cache and \data folders are empty... is Astro hiding the system files or something?
     
  9. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Buy Root Explorer and no file or folder is safe

    In Root Explorer data/dalvik cache
     
  10. ufearme3

    ufearme3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh I see, so tricky Astro was hiding the folder! Thanks tparker! I REALLY appreciate it. I turned on "god mode" using the UD settings and then searched using Astro and sure enough the folder came up! Deleted its contents... going to reboot now!

    Thanks again!! :icon_ banana:
     
  11. beckx020

    beckx020 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Moto Droid is rooted. But otherwise just plain. Is there a way to script this so I can put it under an icon on a home page? Then I could just run it once a week or month or whenever I think I want to.
     
  12. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    after I did this when I was having problems with UD8.0...after I rebooted...my widgets were stacked like 10 on top of each other. I dont know what couldve caused it.

    I used terminal and did the above cd /cache/dalvik-cache then rm * and reboot.

    I dragged my youtube widget to the trash can and there was another one underneath it...and another and another...and another...like 10 of them stacked on each other.

    I checked all my other widgets and ALL of them copied themselves like 10 times...

    I have since then wiped and restored to Chevy ss 4.7 with 928Droid black glass theme...and Im worried to try and do it again.
     
Search tags for this page

batterystat.bin solution