1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

battery life slowing getting worse on CM

Discussion in 'Koush' started by utkanos, May 6, 2010.

  1. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    Anyone noticed this? When I first flashed CM my battery life was fantastic. I haven't changed anything since that day except flashing the new clockwork every time it prompts me to. The issues started when I went from 1.8.1.11 to 1.8.1.13. I used to get two full days and some change out of my battery and now I am barely getting through two days, each day seems worse and worse. I am contemplating reflashing .11 but I don't see how that would negatively effect the battery life unless clockwork is running differently now. Anyone else notice this?
  2. cideas
    Offline

    cideas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I'm getting some bad battery life with cm. 62. And clockwork 1.8.1.4

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I haven't noticed this at all.
  4. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    I'm on .6.1 because .6.2 caused the 50% signal loss cell standby issue for me. When on .6.1 I still get very high cell standby utilization but it seems like its just misreporting it as others have said. It is easily the highest used item in my battery life constantly since I first flashed CM but only 6.2 gave me the 50% without signal error that was probably draining battery.

    This past weekend I took my charger off Friday morning and didn't plug it in till Sunday night and it still had 30-40% left. Now I am lucky if I get through 36 hours, all of this occured when I went from .11 to .13 then to .14 of clockwork mod. I am going to reflash .11 and see if it helps. I should have just left well enough alone but I keep hoping there will be improvements, not detriments.
  5. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would say my battery life has decreased but cannot for certain contribute it to CM as I have done several things since I first installed 5.0.6.2.

    That being said TWO full days is like ridiculously long battery life. You either don't use it much at all and it sits in standby for 90% of the time or you are greatly exaggerating :p
  6. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    I do not use my phone heavily while at work which is my barometer. It is sitting in standby most of the day and I only idly send texts with it. After work is another matter but for the most part the phone is in standby a lot of the times. I got better life out of the stock OS than I am now. For the first two weeks I was getting much better battery life than I am now and it seems kind of all of the sudden starting this week. I would like to attribute that to updating clockwork mod but I do not want to put blame on something I cannot verify, hence the thread to see if others are experiencing the same problem.
  7. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    FWIW, I changed my sleeping/standby SetCPU profile to conservative to try and help out with this sudden decrease in battery life. It was set to ondemand before with a 125/550 min/max.

    I'm also a bit frustrated that I only see Cell Standby use a ton of battery life when using CM based ROMs, I have yet to see that happen with any other ROM though I've read people claim it happens even in the stock ROM. I might have to try a different one but I've been reading about so many little problems like LEDs not working after changing back and forth and that would be a much bigger problem to me than having to charge my phone more.

    edit: I also updated SetCPU at the same time as the new clockwork...wondering if that is involved as well.
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  8. kyeana
    Offline

    kyeana New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The cell standby issue was a reporting issue only. They have already found the piece of source code that made this number report significantly higher then it should have (i think it was a boolean that was forgot to be reset or something like that), but it shouldn't have any adverse affect on your battery life. To my knowledge it is being fixed in the next release.

    That being said, i have been getting poorer battery life as well too, but i have put all sorts of new things on my phone, so i cannot be sure if it is an app, theme, kernel, or cyanogen that is causing it. Perhaps when 5.7 rolls around i will do some testing to narrow the scope down a bit.

    Cheers.
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  9. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My battery life has been horrible as well.
    I mean when I was on 5.7 I believe my battery life was excellent! It lasted the whole day and then some w/ some pretty significant use.
    Now Ill be lucky to get through one day before charging it.
    I do have the high cell standby and do the *228, but it doesnt seem to help.
    I relfashed the rom, but its still not what it was.
    Hopefully it will be fixed in the next release or something
  10. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    FWIW, I went back to SetCPU 1.5.1a and the problem went away. I took my phone off the charger yesterday at 2:30 central and I have 80% still right now.

    I confirmed this by redownloading it, then reverting back to my backup before it. I'm not entirely sure what the cause is, perhaps a setting I have set that isn't compatible, and I don't want to arbitrarily blame an app, but that fixed it for me. Worth a shot if this thread describes you.
  11. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Were you noticing any heat issues prior to reverting back to SetCPU 1.5.1a ? I am reading in some places that the update also has caused in increase in temps and they also were fixed reverting back to 1.5.1a so was curious if that was your experience as well .
  12. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
    Nothing scientific. The phone felt about the same heat wise to me but I didn't measure anything so I can't say for certain. It wasn't drastic by any means.
  13. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how would i revert back to 1.5.1? i would like to do some testing of my own. but it isnt giving me the option to uninstall update in the market for setcpu....
  14. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've stopped using the Active widget and gone back to the old widget (on 1.5.2) and things have gotten much more in line. FWIW.
  15. utkanos
    Offline

    utkanos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chitown
  16. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    thanks man
  17. evolutioncsr
    Offline

    evolutioncsr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get pretty horrible battery life with .6.2 I love the ROM but am on 1.0 of BB until next release so I can try it out. :)
  18. droidlayman
    Offline

    droidlayman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    What is the old widget and how did you get it/use it? Thanks Mav (excuse the cliche)
  19. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made a backup, booted into recovery, and in the partitions section, I formatted my data, cache, boot, system, and now my droid is getting better battery life. its like a fresh new rom.
    and when youre done, just go into nanroid and hit restore data and then restore that latest backup!
  20. 19DroidRage84
    Offline

    19DroidRage84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LC, KS
    Poor battery life is mostly caused by the kernel. I've noticed that bekits lv kernels have worse battery life than the stanard voltage kernels.
Search tags for this page
battery life cm 11
,
batterylife cm 7.2.2.1 battery
,

cm battery life

,
contact cideas.net