Battery Help

jbhuskers

Reaction score
Okay, I've seen people say that they can go the entire day on one charge. I unplug my phone at around 7:30am, and by 4:30pm when I leave work I'm down to 20%. I have rooted my phone, but I am very new to Droid (got it on 4/1). What would be killing my battery? Apps in the background? Live Wallpaper?

From 7:30 to 10:30 today here is a breakdown of battery usage:

Display 27% (as expected)
Cell Standby 13%
Phone Idle 11%
Android System 10%
Android OS 10%

For those bottom four, what apps, processes, etc. can I do to help battery life?

Thanks in advance for helping a newbie out!

OP
jbhuskers

jbhuskers

Reaction score
Here's a screenshot from the Autokiller Memory app.

I'm assuming this could give me a good idea of what's draining the bottom four battery killers?

snap20110516_105508.png

OP
jbhuskers

jbhuskers

Reaction score
I'll turn weather updates off to just refresh on wake. I've heard Live Wallpapers don't really affect it at all? I'm just using the stock smoke one.

OP
jbhuskers

jbhuskers

Reaction score
...and is that app I have the screenshot of above a good indicator of what would be killing my battery on idle?

cece5702

Reaction score
The best thing that has worked for me is Juice Defender. I start out my day at 100% battery life and at 5:00 pm I am at 70% battery life. This is after a day of texting, reading and sending emails, Twitter and reading news at lunch time on MSNBC.

I have my Battery Manager set at Maximum Battery Saver, I turned off Push Data for emails and I have it set to fetch every 30 minutes and Juice Defender is doing the rest. It has made a tremendous difference on my battery at the end of the day. At night is when I watch news videos to catch up on the news and by the time I go to bed, I'm at 40 or 50 %. Hope this helps :).