Baseband?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by aaronmcc11, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. aaronmcc11

    aaronmcc11 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is baseband?
     
  2. drummerq

    drummerq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump, thinking of updating baseband, want to know what I'm doing
     
  3. Thunder_sl

    Thunder_sl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. drummerq

    drummerq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So updating baseband would do????
     
  5. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    In theory it could increase your reception, in practice this varies. Some people say they get better reception and speeds on older basebands while the newer ones aren't as good, while others say the opposite. Personally I didn't notice any major difference, and what I may have noticed could have been placebo. I wasn't alone in my findings either, with the little to no difference.

    Side note: Not that it matters, but be aware that updating your baseband should require you to reactivate your phone.
     
  6. drummerq

    drummerq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do u mean by reactivate ur phone?
     
  7. Thunder_sl

    Thunder_sl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    Once you update, your phone will not work. You have to reactivate it by dialing *22899 (or *228 and follow the prompts). It is more or less the same process you follow when you switch to a new phone.
     
Search tags for this page

android baseband

,
android baseband what is it
,
android waht is baseband
,

baseband android

,

baseband android wiki

,
baseband version android
,
baseband version android wiki
,
baseband version s4 wiki
,
baseband wiki android
,
basebandwiki