Baseband Speed Issues C_01.43.01P Update BB .4

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Toph, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. Toph
    Offline

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    UPDATE
    Did some testing from Southern California. Out of the 3 major basebands available, C_01.3e.01P is the clear winner averaging about 600k down and 680k up. It also has by far the most stable 3g. See pics below

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Detailed Results (k down/k up)

    C_01.3E.01P- 663/667, 582/689

    C_01.41.00R- 192/51, 101/92, 54/71
    C_01.43.01P - 132/507, 131/87, 124/23


    Hey all, just wanted to start a new thread on this, as I saw some other people having the same issues scattered around.
    Basically after my update from whatever the 'stock baseband' was (i buckled on not noting before the upgrade), I saw my 3G data speed drop from about 600k down/ 300k up to like 300 down/100 up. I also notice that while my '1x' bars of service are now through the roof, I do not have 3g nearly as much.

    To verify I hadn't done something really dumb on my first attempt, I wiped data, applied the 01.40 update then reapplied the C_01.43.01P update and have had the same results.

    Any advice on correcting this? Has anyone else been having similar issues?

    I am running bb .4 with sprecovery and clockworkmod @800mhz with SetCPU

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2010
  2. ndhill1976
    Offline

    ndhill1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also had worse 3g coverage with the new baseband and switched back. I am sure that it helped, or didn't hurt most people, but it would depend on what towers you are using, I guess.
     
  3. Toph
    Offline

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird that it would do that though... what is the baseband you switched back to? Have a link for it?
     
  4. lte
    Offline

    lte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Toph
    Offline

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying now.... will report back.
     
  6. Toph
    Offline

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still Spotty 3g where it used to be gold.

    To note, quote/post above references baseband C_01.41.00R

    Updated about an hour ago and 3g is still very spotty. Goes from 5 bars of 3G to none, back to 1x while i have it sitting there. I'll give it the rest of the night to do its thing, then see if i can find my 'original' vzw released baseband to test against.

    Think vzw is going to cut me off on the activations? I think I've done about 20 in the past week.

    I'll post my speedtest results for all 3 of these basebands tomorrow once I have decided to either stick with this one or revert back.
     
  7. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    These basebands aren't for everyone (location location location)

    I'm located in southern california and have also experience 3g issues with baseband C_01.43.01P, more specifically no 3g at all. Anytime they release a new baseband I at least try it out, but always end up coming back to the original baseband C_01.3e.01p, as it has provided the best reception and speed.
     
  8. snot
    Offline

    snot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if it is something different with Pete's new release of C_01.43.01P or my phone running Sapphire 1.0 FRG01B, but I am also located in Southern California and am noticing slightly better signal and faster dl speeds. Upgraded from C_01.3E.01P
     
  9. dparm
    Offline

    dparm Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "leaked" baseband update was a Verizon dev build. OTA baseband update was far better. Even though the version numbers are the same, the checksums are not....hence the basebands are different.
     
  10. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Curious, did you by chance check for the "time without signal 50%" bug when getting these numbers?