Baseband Speed Issues C_01.43.01P Update BB .4

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Toph, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. Toph

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    UPDATE
    Did some testing from Southern California. Out of the 3 major basebands available, C_01.3e.01P is the clear winner averaging about 600k down and 680k up. It also has by far the most stable 3g. See pics below

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Detailed Results (k down/k up)

    C_01.3E.01P- 663/667, 582/689

    C_01.41.00R- 192/51, 101/92, 54/71
    C_01.43.01P - 132/507, 131/87, 124/23


    Hey all, just wanted to start a new thread on this, as I saw some other people having the same issues scattered around.
    Basically after my update from whatever the 'stock baseband' was (i buckled on not noting before the upgrade), I saw my 3G data speed drop from about 600k down/ 300k up to like 300 down/100 up. I also notice that while my '1x' bars of service are now through the roof, I do not have 3g nearly as much.

    To verify I hadn't done something really dumb on my first attempt, I wiped data, applied the 01.40 update then reapplied the C_01.43.01P update and have had the same results.

    Any advice on correcting this? Has anyone else been having similar issues?

    I am running bb .4 with sprecovery and clockworkmod @800mhz with SetCPU

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2010
  2. ndhill1976

    ndhill1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also had worse 3g coverage with the new baseband and switched back. I am sure that it helped, or didn't hurt most people, but it would depend on what towers you are using, I guess.
     
  3. Toph

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird that it would do that though... what is the baseband you switched back to? Have a link for it?
     
  4. lte

    lte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Toph

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying now.... will report back.
     
  6. Toph

    Toph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still Spotty 3g where it used to be gold.

    To note, quote/post above references baseband C_01.41.00R

    Updated about an hour ago and 3g is still very spotty. Goes from 5 bars of 3G to none, back to 1x while i have it sitting there. I'll give it the rest of the night to do its thing, then see if i can find my 'original' vzw released baseband to test against.

    Think vzw is going to cut me off on the activations? I think I've done about 20 in the past week.

    I'll post my speedtest results for all 3 of these basebands tomorrow once I have decided to either stick with this one or revert back.
     
  7. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    These basebands aren't for everyone (location location location)

    I'm located in southern california and have also experience 3g issues with baseband C_01.43.01P, more specifically no 3g at all. Anytime they release a new baseband I at least try it out, but always end up coming back to the original baseband C_01.3e.01p, as it has provided the best reception and speed.
     
  8. snot

    snot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if it is something different with Pete's new release of C_01.43.01P or my phone running Sapphire 1.0 FRG01B, but I am also located in Southern California and am noticing slightly better signal and faster dl speeds. Upgraded from C_01.3E.01P
     
  9. dparm

    dparm Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "leaked" baseband update was a Verizon dev build. OTA baseband update was far better. Even though the version numbers are the same, the checksums are not....hence the basebands are different.
     
  10. thatguychuck

    thatguychuck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Curious, did you by chance check for the "time without signal 50%" bug when getting these numbers?