Baseband flash for noobs????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tony1208, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what's up. I'll try that method if I don't get the official OTA within the next few days. I just want to know what the differences in the sbf and the OTA are, if there are any.
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    But did you get the radio update?
     
  3. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok just to confirm again, I just loaded my UD 7.8 backup so I am rerooted with the new baseband. I just dont have it in me to go to UDV8 tonight. Screw you 2.1 OTA I dont need you! God I love this phone
     
  4. stlcity

    stlcity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone please explain the need to do this for a noob? From what I read this seems to be a last ditch effort to save one's phone before it is dead or I should say 'bricked". Am I right or is there some advantage to do this? Thanks in advance.
     
  5. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh I hate RSDLite, it was the cause of so much frustration. Almost had a heart-attack when the stupid "corrupt" message poped up. Almost threw my computer out the window, I installed a Windows XP virtual machine TWICE not to mention between these successful installations I had many many failed attempts where windows gave me stupid errors. Not to mention it takes like 40 minutes to install the damn OS. I couldn't get bootcamp installed because my computer is an old POS. ugh...I'm getting a headache just thinking about it.

    I did all of that just so I could press "..." and "start" and wait...you'd think it'd work without a hitch :\
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  6. tony1208

    tony1208 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well since ALOT of you guys had such problems doing this flash with rsdlite I think I ll wait for something more easier to pop up to do this ....I need my celll to work and it being a weekend and I have to work ,if I screw up my droid I would be able to get a another one untill monday ...
     
  7. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe this could be an indication for people to determine if their radio is going to flash successfully or not.
    Any idea what the differences were?
     
  8. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hosed. A whole night on the charger, and it still shows low battery, cannot program. Oh well, time for a new phone.

    -Mike
     
  9. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could see if they'll charge up your battery if you want to try and keep your phone.
     
  10. rmcomer

    rmcomer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, that's the first thing that I checked.
     
  11. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good point. I should probably try a new battery first. However this turns out, I am going to pick up one of those chargers that just does the battery alone.

    -Mike
     
  12. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would agree with this. Dont even bother to flash unless it is showing some phone info. That being said it didnt show that info until I failed, switched usbs and tried again (while keeping RSD open) so who knows. The annoying part is that it would go through the whole process and say sorry buddy. When it finally did work it rebooted while attached and show its boot up progress (%) as it did. Maybe I'm crazy but its seems I have had a strong 3G signal all morning. This is worth doing if you have the patience to fail multiple times. Just for reference I am on Windows 32 bit. Also it creates a log as to why it failed which I do have if it means anything to anyone.

    Is the little white light on next to the charger input?
     
Search tags for this page

android how to flash baseband

,

droid 3 baseband driver

,

droid x2 baseband radio flash

,

flash baseband droid 3

,

flash programming for noobs

,

how to flash a radio android

,

how to flash baseband file

,

motorola droid 3 baseband file flash rsd

,

motorola droid sbf baseband

,

no baseband after sbf flash