Baseband flash for noobs????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tony1208, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Probably no more than normal usage would.
     
  2. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did, and I lost this round. I'll go get a new refurbed Droid tomorrow. Maybe I can blame it on a failed OTA update.

    None of the re-installing worked. The Droid won't even stay on now, pops on to tell me the battery is too low to program and then shuts off. The white light is on next to the charging port, but nobody is home. :D

    -Mike
     
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good, I guess I'll wait this OTA thing out a couple more days, and if it doesn't come I'm going back to the unofficial 2.1
     
  4. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Leave it on the charger for a little while then try again.
     
  5. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wow, yeah I wasn't expecting anyone to actually end up killing their device :(

    Def. let it charge overnight. As long as the programming bootloader is still there, it should be able to be salvaged.
     
  6. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do get that...

    Bootloader
    2C.6C

    I'll put it on the charger, head off to bed, and see what tomorrow brings me. If more failures, I'll just take it back to VZW and get a new one.

    -Mike
     
  7. stedrocklp
    Offline

    stedrocklp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Success!!!!!!!! Ok I finally F'n got it on my seveth try. I will discribe exactly what I did it may or may not work for you. Ok first I tried to flash the sbf and failed. Second I turned off the phone but kept RSDlite open. I then switched usb ports and booted back into bootloader. Just for a note, when I hit "show device" after I switched ports and rebooted it showed some info that it previously didnt. Once I did that and ran the SBF file it worked. I am sure it sounds very convoluted to you as it does to me but who cares it worked. If its not working give this a shot and see if it works. If it does then maybe my three and a half hours of trial and error were worth something.
     
  8. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Good to know. It would be nice to see a pattern to this madness.
     
  9. rmcomer
    Offline

    rmcomer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must be lucky. I'm on Win 7 64 and successfully flashed sbf the first time with no problems following the guide step by step. I've re-rooted following the guide and was able to restore my BlackDroid V8 backup without a glitch.
     
  10. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what's up. I'll try that method if I don't get the official OTA within the next few days. I just want to know what the differences in the sbf and the OTA are, if there are any.
     
  11. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    But did you get the radio update?
     
  12. stedrocklp
    Offline

    stedrocklp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok just to confirm again, I just loaded my UD 7.8 backup so I am rerooted with the new baseband. I just dont have it in me to go to UDV8 tonight. Screw you 2.1 OTA I dont need you! God I love this phone
     
  13. stlcity
    Offline

    stlcity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone please explain the need to do this for a noob? From what I read this seems to be a last ditch effort to save one's phone before it is dead or I should say 'bricked". Am I right or is there some advantage to do this? Thanks in advance.
     
  14. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh I hate RSDLite, it was the cause of so much frustration. Almost had a heart-attack when the stupid "corrupt" message poped up. Almost threw my computer out the window, I installed a Windows XP virtual machine TWICE not to mention between these successful installations I had many many failed attempts where windows gave me stupid errors. Not to mention it takes like 40 minutes to install the damn OS. I couldn't get bootcamp installed because my computer is an old POS. ugh...I'm getting a headache just thinking about it.

    I did all of that just so I could press "..." and "start" and wait...you'd think it'd work without a hitch :\
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  15. tony1208
    Offline

    tony1208 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well since ALOT of you guys had such problems doing this flash with rsdlite I think I ll wait for something more easier to pop up to do this ....I need my celll to work and it being a weekend and I have to work ,if I screw up my droid I would be able to get a another one untill monday ...
     
Search tags for this page

droid x2 baseband flash

,

droid x2 baseband radio flash

,

flash baseband droid 3

,

flash programming for noobs

,

how to flash a radio android

,

how to flash baseband and libs on android

,

how to flash baseband file

,

motorola droid 3 baseband file flash rsd

,

motorola droid sbf baseband

,

no baseband after sbf flash