Baseband flash for noobs????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tony1208, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will flashing sbf's onto your phone with RSD Lite too many times mess up your phone at all?
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    There is a larger potential of completing killing your phone.

    If it makes you feel better though I have had failures in RSDLite that left my phone with code corrupt (message on boot), I've done a battery pull halfway through a flash, etc, and I am still here to speak about it.

    YMMV, I recommend you don't tempt fate more than you have to.
     
  3. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I've had the code corrupt message too, but will it depreciate your memory or anything?
     
  4. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Probably no more than normal usage would.
     
  5. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did, and I lost this round. I'll go get a new refurbed Droid tomorrow. Maybe I can blame it on a failed OTA update.

    None of the re-installing worked. The Droid won't even stay on now, pops on to tell me the battery is too low to program and then shuts off. The white light is on next to the charging port, but nobody is home. :D

    -Mike
     
  6. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good, I guess I'll wait this OTA thing out a couple more days, and if it doesn't come I'm going back to the unofficial 2.1
     
  7. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Leave it on the charger for a little while then try again.
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Wow, yeah I wasn't expecting anyone to actually end up killing their device :(

    Def. let it charge overnight. As long as the programming bootloader is still there, it should be able to be salvaged.
     
  9. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do get that...

    Bootloader
    2C.6C

    I'll put it on the charger, head off to bed, and see what tomorrow brings me. If more failures, I'll just take it back to VZW and get a new one.

    -Mike
     
  10. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Success!!!!!!!! Ok I finally F'n got it on my seveth try. I will discribe exactly what I did it may or may not work for you. Ok first I tried to flash the sbf and failed. Second I turned off the phone but kept RSDlite open. I then switched usb ports and booted back into bootloader. Just for a note, when I hit "show device" after I switched ports and rebooted it showed some info that it previously didnt. Once I did that and ran the SBF file it worked. I am sure it sounds very convoluted to you as it does to me but who cares it worked. If its not working give this a shot and see if it works. If it does then maybe my three and a half hours of trial and error were worth something.
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Good to know. It would be nice to see a pattern to this madness.
     
  12. rmcomer

    rmcomer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must be lucky. I'm on Win 7 64 and successfully flashed sbf the first time with no problems following the guide step by step. I've re-rooted following the guide and was able to restore my BlackDroid V8 backup without a glitch.
     
Search tags for this page

android how to flash baseband

,

droid 3 baseband driver

,

droid x2 baseband radio flash

,

flash baseband droid 3

,

flash programming for noobs

,

how to flash a radio android

,

how to flash baseband file

,

motorola droid 3 baseband file flash rsd

,

motorola droid sbf baseband

,

no baseband after sbf flash